Film Reviews

2983 film reviews available in total starting from 04/09/2002. Last updated on 16/08/2018. 589 film reviews inserted in the last 12 months.

A Taste of Ink by Morgan Simon

26/01/2017

Morgan Simon brings us an astonishing, energetic and very promising debut film about the latent conflict between a father and son  

Compte tes blessures

Compte tes blessures

The Other Half of the Sky by Patrik Soergel

25/01/2017

Patrik Soergel presents a surprising and poetic documentary at the Solothurn Film Festival that portrays a different China, complex and often contradictory  

The Other Half of the Sky: Stories of Chinese Business Women

The Other Half of the Sky: Stories of Chinese Business Women

Rue de Blamage by Aldo Gugolz

25/01/2017

The latest documentary by Aldo Gugolz is a sensitive and brave portrayal of the life of “ordinary” people, between their problems and small yet major victories  

Rue de Blamage

Rue de Blamage

Impasse by Elise Shubs

25/01/2017

Producer and now filmmaker Elise Shubs, who worked with Lausanne-based company Climage for a long time, presents the world premiere of her first medium-length film at the Solothurn Film Festival  

Impasse

Impasse

In Loco Parentis by Neasa Ní Chianáin, David Rane

25/01/2017

Neasa Ní Chianáin and David Rane’s documentary, produced by Spain and Ireland, introduces us to an academic institution where the teachers pass on values and ethics to the children  

In Loco Parentis

In Loco Parentis

The Good Postman by Tonislav Hristov

24/01/2017

Tonislav Hristov has come up with a heartwarming, relevant and surprisingly universal take on the refugee crisis  

The Good Postman

The Good Postman

Blind Spot by Nabil Ben Yadir

24/01/2017

With his third film, Nabil Ben Yadir brings us a by-the-book detective story, a film of cops and yobs set against the backdrop of the rise of populism  

Dode Hoek

Dode Hoek

The Valley of Salt by Christophe M. Saber

24/01/2017

For his debut feature film, which tells the story of how his parents’ lives were threatened, Christophe M. Saber has chosen to use the camera to exorcise his fear  

La Vallée du sel

La Vallée du sel

My Happy Family by Nana Ekvtimishvili, Simon Groß

23/01/2017

Duo Nana Ekvtimishvili and Simon Gross are back with a magnificent portrait of a woman in search of freedom, directed with subtle mastery  

Chemi Bednieri Ojakhi

Chemi Bednieri Ojakhi

I Am Truly a Drop of Sun on Earth by Elene Naveriani

23/01/2017

Elene Naveriani, a young Georgian director who trained in Switzerland, brings the Solothurn Film Festival a fascinating and radical first film  

Me Mzis Skivi Var Dedamicaze

Me Mzis Skivi Var Dedamicaze