email print share on facebook share on twitter share on google+

INSTITUTIONS Switzerland / Luxembourg

Co-production treaty signed


Swiss federal advisor Didier Burkhalter and Luxembourg’s Minister for Communications and the Media François Biltgen signed a co-production agreement between the two countries in Cannes on Sunday. The text holds particular significance for the Swiss film industry, as it stipulates that Luxembourg-based companies can now invest up to 100% in Swiss co-productions, depending on the type of project co-produced. This move places Switzerland on an equal footing with EU Member States that, to date, have been the sole beneficiaries of such a clause.

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

In another good piece of news for the Swiss film sector, the agreement also modifies the required quota between each co-producer’s contribution to a project. At present, the legal quota is that fixed by the European Convention of Film Co-production – which makes provision for a minimum quota of 20-80% between majority and minority co-producers. It will now be between 10% and 90%.

This reduction in the minimum contribution allowed a company wanting to enter a co-production agreement is expected to create a significant rise in the number of new projects made by Switzerland and Luxembourg. Switzerland currently benefits from similar treaties with France, Germany, Italy, Austria, Belgium and Canada.

A number of co-productions show the solid links that exist to date between Switzerland and Luxembourg. The most recent of these is the recently, critically acclaimed The Little Room [+see also:
film review
interview: Véronique Reymond, Stéphan…
film profile
by Lausanne-based directors Véronique Reymond and Stéphanie Chuat, which won two Quartz Awards, Switzerland’s top film honours, for Best Film and Best Screenplay last March (see news).

(Translated from French)

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please subscribe to our newsletter to receive more stories like this directly in your inbox.