email print share on facebook share on twitter share on google+


Four Swedish features-to-be compete for €0.6 million production funding


- Swedish newcomer Terese Andrén, Fia-Stina Sandlund, Malou Schultzbergand, Marietta von Hausswolff von Baumgarten are vying for the third Stockholm Feature Film Award for women directors

Four Swedish features-to-be compete for €0.6 million production funding

Taking place between November 6-17, the 24th Stockholm International Film Festival has selected four feature projects to compete for the festival’s third Stockholm Feature Film Award for women directors, which comes with €0.6 million cash and production services. Furthermore the winning film will be launched during the Stockholm festival and is secured On Demand premiere through Telia Premium and Nordic-Baltic distribution through Sweden’s NonStop Entertainment. “The award is one of the largest of its kind – it should encourage new, women directing talent, and we hope to give the opportunity for new voices to come forward and be heard,” said festival manager Git Scheynius.

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

The contenders for the 2013 prize include Terese Andrén’s Concern, scripted by Andrén and Malin Malmgren
, produced by Mimmi Spang and Rebecka Lafrenz, for Garage Film International; Fia-Stina Sandlund’s She’s Wild Again Tonight [+see also:
film profile
, scripted by Sandlund and Josefine Adolfsson, produced by Tobias Janson
, for Story; Malou Schultzberg’
s Worst Mafia, scripted by Santiago Gil, produced by Leif Mohlin and Helene Mohlin, for MINT; and Marietta von Hausswolff von Baumgarten’s Wasted, scripted by von Baumgarten, produced by Helle Ulsteen, for Scandinavian Lovers.

In Concern, a real estate agent leaves his well-organised life in Stockholm, convinced that a global collapse is near; She's Wild Again Tonight is described as a modern Miss Julie; Worst Mafia is a gangster comedy, and Wasted – also nominated last year - follows a lost teenager’s efforts to survive a year of chaos, decadence and dangerous impulses. The winner will be announced at the festival’s awards ceremony on November 15 at Stockholm’s Berns.

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please subscribe to our newsletter to receive more stories like this directly in your inbox.