email print share on facebook share on twitter share on google+


Oleg Sentsov added to San Sebastián jury


- Following the example set by Motovun and Venice, San Sebastián adds the imprisoned Ukrainian filmmaker to its Official Competition Jury

Oleg Sentsov added to San Sebastián jury
Oleg Sentsov

“To defend freedom of expression and on request by the European Film Academy, the San Sebastian Film Festival, following in the footsteps of festivals such as Motovun and Venice, has decided to name Oleg Sentsov an honorary member of this year's Official Competition Jury,” the festival announced today in a press release.

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

The Ukrainian filmmaker was arrested on 10 May by the Federal Security Service of the Russian Federation and is now in a Moscow prison for having backed the Euromaidan protests in Kiev and for opposing the annexation of Crimea by Russia. 

Sentsov will be the honorary member of the jury for the Official Selection, which also includes Fernando Bovaira (chair), Eric Khoo, Mariana Rondón, Marjane Satrapi, Nastassja Kinski, Reinhold Vorschneider and Vlad Ivanov.

They will decide on which title will receive the Golden Shell Award for Best Film, Silver Shell Awards for Best Director, Actor and Actress, and Jury Prizes for Best Cinematography and Screenplay.

The Kutxa-New Directors Award Jury, comprising Nicole Brenez (chair), Chris Fujiwara, Fernando Guzzoni, María Mur and Malgorzata Szumowska, will give out the largest monetary prize awarded at any festival, €50,000, to be shared by the winning film’s director and its Spanish distributor.  

The Horizontes Award, aimed at increasing knowledge of feature films produced totally or partially in Latin America, directed by filmmakers of Latin origin, or set around or dealing with Latin communities in the rest of the world – and worth €35,000 – will be presented by a jury consisting of Sara Silveira (chair), Juana Acosta and Nuria Vidal.

The Irizar Basque Film Award for the Best Basque Film presented as a world premiere in any section of the festival, worth €20,000, will be decided upon by Isabel Herguera (chair), Angel Aldarondo and Rafael Berrio.

The TVE-Another Look Award, to be handed out by Conxita Casanovas and Susana Soto, rewards cinema that focuses on subjects related to the female world. The award consists of acquiring the right to broadcast the film on television for the general public.

The International Film Students Meeting Awards, with a jury comprising one student from each of the schools selected to compete, and chaired by Laurent Cantet, include several prizes for young filmmakers, such as the Panavision Award (a complete camera package and a spot on the shortlist for BioBio Cine, Festival Internacional de Concepción, Chile); Freak Independent Film Agency Award (free submissions of the winning film to 50 international film festivals); participation in the TorinoFilmLab programme; the selection of three candidate directors to participate with their works in the Short Film Corner at the next Cannes Festival; and the €5,000 Orona Award for the most cutting-edge short film in the programme.

Finally, the Youth Jury, consisting of around 200 youngsters of between 18 and 25 years of age, will decide on the Best Film in the New Directors section as well as from among the first and second works participating in the Horizontes Latinos section.

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please subscribe to our newsletter to receive more stories like this directly in your inbox.