email print share on facebook share on twitter share on google+

CANNES 2015 Official Selection

Revealed: The short films in competition for the Palme d’Or


- In May, nine films will take part in the short-film competition on the Croisette, while 18 titles are lined up for the Cinéfondation selection

Revealed: The short films in competition for the Palme d’Or
Copain by Jan and Ralf Roosens

The names of the nine short films that will be duking it out for the Palme d’Or 2015 at the 68th Cannes Film Festival (14-25 May 2014) and the 18 film-school titles in the Cinéfondation selection have just been unveiled. Filmmaker Abderrahmane Sissako will have the honour of chairing the jury (read the news).

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

Short-film Competition:
Ely Dagher - Waves '98 (LB/QA)
Shane Danielsen - The Guests (AU)
Ziya Demirel - Sali (TR/FR)
Céline Devaux - Le repas dominical (FR)
Dan Hodgson - Love Is Blind (UK)
Basil Khalil - Ave Maria (PS/FR/DE)
Jan and Ralf Roosens - Copain (BE)
Eva Riley - Patriot (UK)
Jair Said - Presente imperfecto (AR)

Behzad Azadp - Koshtargah - Arts University of Tehran (IR)
Mateo Bendesky - El ser magnético - Universidad del cine FUC (AR)
Pippa Bianco - Share - AFI's Directing Workshop for Women (US)
Simon Cartwright - Manoman - National Film and Television School (UK) 
Juan Garrido López - Victor XXX - ESCAC (ES)
Maria Guskova - Vozvrashenie Erkina - High Courses for Scriptwriters and Film Directors (RU)
Félix Hazeaux, Tomas Nitsche, Edward Noonan, Franck Pina and Raphaëlle Plantier - Leonardo - MOPA (FR)
Ignacio Mericic Merillan - Locas perdidas - Carrera de Cine y TV Universidad de Chile (CL)
Sofie Kampmark - Tsunami - The Animation Workshop (DK)
Tomas Klein and Tomas Merta - Retriever - FAMU Prague (CZ)
Aurélien Peilloux - Les chercheurs - La Fémis (FR)
Eliza Petkova - Abwesend - Deutsch Film & Fernschakademie (DE)
Miki Polonski - Asara Rehovot Mea Etsim - Minshar for Art (IL)
Maksim Shavkin - 14 Steps - Moscow School of New Cinema (RU)
Hector Silva Núñez - Anfibio - EICTV (CU)
Salla Sorri - Ainahan ne palaa - Aalto University, ELO Film School Helsinki (FI)
Laura Vandewynckel - Het Paradus - RITS School of Arts Brussels (BE)
Qiu Yang - Ri guang zhi xia - The VCA, Film & TV School, Melbourne (AU)

(Translated from French)

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please subscribe to our newsletter to receive more stories like this directly in your inbox.