email print share on facebook share on twitter share on google+


Oscar Academy invites 322 to join as members


- Paweł Pawlikowski, François Ozon, Fernando Trueba, Joe Wright and Morten Tyldum, amongst invitees

Oscar Academy invites 322 to join as members
Director Paweł Pawlikowski

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, the film body that awards the Oscars annually, has invited a record 322 distinguished practitioners of cinema from around the world to join. The previous highest invitation list was 276 in 2013. Academy President Cheryl Boone Isaacs said, “It’s gratifying to acknowledge the extraordinary range of talent in our industry. This year, our branches have recognized a more diverse and inclusive list of filmmakers and artists than ever before, and we look forward to adding their creativity, ideas and experience to our organization.”

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

Invited European directors include Simon Curtis, François Ozon, Paweł Pawlikowski, Fernando TruebaMorten Tyldum, Zaza Urushadze, Edgar Wright, Joe Wright and Andrey Zvyagintsev. Invited European cinematographers include Ryszard Lenczewski, Hoyte Van Hoytema, Roman Vasyanov and Łukasz Żal. European film editors invited include Mick Audsley, Jinx Godfrey, Barney Pilling and Job ter Burg

Jóhann Jóhannsson and Gary Yershon are amongst invited European composers. Jorge Guerricaechevarría, along with long time writing collaborator and noted filmmaker Álex de la Iglesia, has been invited in the writers category. There are also a number of European invitees from the design, production design, production, documentary, public relations, animation, sound, make-up, costume and visual effects departments.

The acting cadre features mostly British invitees, including Benedict CumberbatchMartin FreemanTom HardyFelicity JonesGugu Mbatha-RawDavid OyelowoDev PatelRosamund PikeDaniel Radcliffe and Eddie Redmayne.

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please subscribe to our newsletter to receive more stories like this directly in your inbox.