email print share on facebook share on twitter share on google+


Dark Skull and Silent Meeting scoop IndieLisboa’s top awards


- Both titles represent the transition from short to feature format by directors Kiro Russo and Miguel Clara Vasconcelos

Dark Skull and Silent Meeting scoop IndieLisboa’s top awards
Silent Meeting by Miguel Clara Vasconcelos

Bolivian director Kiro Russo’s feature debut, Dark Skull, has won the Grand Prize in the international competition at IndieLisboa, which came to an end this weekend. According to the jury, Russo is a “major talent with a unique vision and a powerful gaze”, which he demonstrates in this project centred on the contradictions and transformations of the Bolivian mining industry. Russo had previously presented his short film at the Lisbon-based festival.

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

Another big winner was the feature debut by Portuguese director Miguel Clara Vasconcelos, who presented his much-anticipated Silent Meeting [+see also:
film review
film profile
 in the national competition section. The movie is loosely inspired by a real case about a group of university students who took part in an academic ritual on the beach one winter’s night – a ritual that ended in tragedy. In Vasconcelos’ film, the students organise a meeting in the countryside. Bound by a pact of silence – and eager to reach a higher status and achieve true knowledge – they submit to what seems to be a mystical initiation ceremony imposed by their leader, the Dux.

Produced by C.R.I.M.Silent Meeting stars a group of up-and-coming acting talents, such as Ágata PinhoAlexander DavidIsabel CostaFilipe Abreu and Nuno Fonseca. The film’s score was composed by The Legendary Tigerman.

Here is the full list of winners at IndieLisboa 2017:

International Competition

Grand Prize City of Lisbon
Dark Skull – Kiro Russo (Bolivia/Qatar)

Special Jury Prize
Arábia – Affonso Uchôa and João Dumans (Brazil)

Best Short Film
Close Ties – Zofia Kowalewska (Poland)

Best Animation Short
489 Years – Hayoun Kwon (France)

Best Documentary Short
The Hollow Coin – Frank Heath (USA)

National Competition

Allianz Prize
Silent Meeting [+see also:
film review
film profile
 – Miguel Clara Vasconcelos (Portugal)

Best Short Film
Miragem meus putos – Diogo Baldaia (Portugal)

FCSHI/Nova New Talent Award
Flores – Jorge Jácome (Portugal)

Walla Collective Award
Os corpos que pensam – Catherine Boutaud (France/Portugal)


Indie Music Schweppes Prize
Tony Conrad: Completely in the Present – Tyler Hubby (USA/UK)

Tree of Life Award
Antão, o Invisível – Maya Kosa and Sérgio da Costa (Switzerland/Portugal)
Num Globo de Never – André Gil Mata (Portugal)

Amnesty International Award
Find Fix Finish – Mila Zhluktenko and Sylvain Cruiziat (Germany)

Universities’ Award
El mar la mar – Joshua Bonnetta and JP Sniadecki (USA)

Schools’ Award
Wild Hope – Audrey Bauduin (France)

Audience Awards

Best Feature
Venus – Lea Glob and Mette Carla Albrechtsen (Denmark/Norway)

Best Short Film
Written/Unwritten – Adrian Silisteanu (Romania)

IndieJunior Schools DoctorGummy Award
Litterbugs – Peter Stanley-Ward (UK)

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please subscribe to our newsletter to receive more stories like this directly in your inbox.