email print share on facebook share on twitter share on google+

LOCARNO 2017 Industry

Locarno Industry Academy participants announced


- Locarno’s intensive workshop will welcome ten young industry professionals to this year’s edition

Locarno Industry Academy participants announced
The participants in the 2015 edition of the Locarno Industry Academy

The Locarno Industry Academy, one of the youngest sections of the Locarno Academy initiative, which this year celebrates its eighth edition, has announced the ten emerging professionals selected to participate. The Industry Academy, which initially launched as a pilot programme in 2014, is organised by the Industry Office of the Locarno Festival and, since 2015, has been under the supervision of its project manager, Marion Klotz. The 2017 Industry Academy runs from 2-9 August in parallel with the Locarno Industry Days.

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

The intensive, eight-day workshop focuses on emerging industry professionals related to various fields, such as international sales, distribution, marketing, film exhibition and festival programming. The aim of the programme is to offer a broad overview of the challenges and the opportunities of today’s market and, of course, to lend participants a hand with the expansion of their network of contacts, which could trigger new collaborations in the film industry.

Carlo Chatrian, artistic director of the Locarno Film Festival, underlined: “We want the Locarno Academy to be a lab where one can gain a better understanding and be fully involved in the current changes occurring in the entire cinema world.”

It’s worth mentioning that the Locarno Industry Academy has also expanded globally with its International programmes, which take place in October at the Morelia International Film Festival, in November at the Thessaloniki International Film Festival and in March 2018 at the Film Society of Lincoln Center, New Directors New Films Festival.

The participants selected for the 2017 Locarno Industry Academy are:

Edward Frost (UK) – Thunderbird Releasing, UK
Emma Caviezel (Switzerland/Sweden) – Draken Films, Sweden
Emma Silhol (France) – Films Boutique, Germany
Giampietro Balia (Italy) – PÖFF – Black Nights IFF, Estonia
Johan Fogde Dias (Sweden/Portugal) – Folkets Bio Distribution, Sweden
Katerina Dvorakova (Czech Republic) – Aerofilms, Czech Republic
Marieke de Meerleer (Belgium) – The Searchers, Belgium
Ricardo Monastier (Brazil/Portugal) – MPM Film, France
Valentina Neumann (Italy) – Alphapanda, UK/Germany
Yasmina Tamer (France/Morocco) – Memento Films International, France

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please subscribe to our newsletter to receive more stories like this directly in your inbox.