email print share on facebook share on twitter share on google+


Thessaloniki’s Agora Doc Market hands out its awards


- Multi-award-winning Greek documentarian Marianna Economou has received the main Post-Production Award at the gathering

Thessaloniki’s Agora Doc Market hands out its awards
Marianna Economou receives the main Post-Production Award from Nikos Moutselos, of 2|35 Inc Post-Production House (© Motionteam)

The Agora Doc Market, the Thessaloniki Documentary Festival’s (TDF) industry section, handed out its Docs in Progress Awards during a ceremony that took place at Thessaloniki’s port Warehouse C on Wednesday 7 March.

Celebrating the 20th edition of the TDF, Thessaloniki International Film Festival general director Élise Jalladeau and head of the Agora Doc Market Yianna Sarri introduced the members of the seventh Docs in Progress international jury, comprising Laia AubiaDocsBarcelona distribution manager; Charlotte Madsen, buyer at Swedish pubcaster SVT; and Takis Veremis, distributor at StraDA Films.

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

Ten documentaries participated in this edition, and you can read the complete profile of each project in our report. The jury granted the main €15,000 Post-Production Award provided by Greece’s 2|35 Inc Post-Production House to Seeds of Columbus, directed by Marianna Economou and co-produced by Spyros Mavrogenis (Stefi/Lynx Productions), with Rea Apostolides (Anemon Productions) and with the support of the Greek Film Centre. During her acceptance speech, Economou stated: “I have to thank the festival because whatever I’ve learned about documentaries I learnt here in Thessaloniki.”

The French-Iranian project Staring at the Sun by Atieh Attarzadeh and Hesam Eslami, co-produced by Etienne de Ricaud (Caractères Productions) with the directors, received the €6,500 MuSou Award, which comes with audio post-production services, the composition and production of an original film score, and licensing. The Lithuanian-Estonian documentary Gentle Warriors by Marija Stonyte, co-produced by Giedrė Žickytė (Moonmakers) with Riho Vastrik, received the jury’s Special Mention.

Hellas Film Promotion director Kostas Aivaliotis presented the Greek Film Centre Award, worth €3,000, which was handed out for the first time and went to Tiny Souls by Dina Naser, co-produced by the director and Mad Moshawash, with Khaled Haddad (Jordan Pioneers) and Palmyre Badinier (Urban Factory).

Here is the complete list of award winners:

2|35 Post-Production Award
Seeds of Columbus - Marianna Economou (Greece)
Producers: Spyros Mavrogenis (Stefi/Lynx Productions), Rea Apostolides (Anemon Productions)

MuSou Award
Staring at the Sun - Atieh Attarzadeh, Hesam Eslami (France/Iran)
Producers: Etienne de Ricaud (Caractères Productions), Atieh Attarzadeh, Hesam Eslami

Special Mention
Gentle Warriors - Marija Stonyte (Lithuania/Estonia)
Producers: Giedrė Žickytė (Moonmakers), Riho Vastrik

Greek Film Centre Award
Tiny Souls – Dina Naser (Jordan/Lebanon/Qatar/Netherlands/France)
Producers: Dina Naser, Mad Moshawash, Khaled Haddad (Jordan Pioneers), Palmyre Badinier (Urban Factory)

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please subscribe to our newsletter to receive more stories like this directly in your inbox.