email print share on facebook share on twitter share on google+


Galway Film Fleadh announces its award winners


- Govinda Van Maele's Gutland, Ryan and Andrew Tohill's The Dig and Viko Nikci's Cellar Door are among the victors at this year's edition

Galway Film Fleadh announces its award winners
Gutland by Govinda Van Maele

It’s a wrap for the 30th edition of the Galway Film Fleadh, the Republic of Ireland’s leading film festival. Yesterday, Sunday 15 July, the event came to a close after a raft of Irish and world premieres, special screenings, master classes and industry meetings. The closing ceremony took place before the screening of Lance Daly's Black 47 [+see also:
film review
interview: Lance Daly
film profile
at the Town Hall Theatre and was attended by President of Ireland Michael D Higgins

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

This year's edition saw the triumph of Ryan and Andrew Tohill's The Dig, the winner of the Award for Best Irish Feature, and Simon FellowsSteel Country, the recipient of the Award for Best International Feature. The Tohill brothers' thriller tells the story of a murderer (Moe Dunford) who searches for his victim’s body in an Irish bog after being released from prison. Meanwhile, Fellows' film stars Andrew Scott as Donald, a local sanitation truck driver who begins an obsessive search for a young boy who has disappeared in a backwoods town. Other prestigious awards were bestowed upon Govinda Van Maele's surrealistic rural noir Gutland [+see also:
film review
interview: Govinda Van Maele
film profile
(Best International First Feature), Viko Nikci's drama Cellar Door (Best Irish First Feature) and Thomas Morgan's documentary about refugee Mariam Shaar Soufra (Best International Feature Documentary).

Here is the complete list of award winners at the 2018 Galway Film Fleadh:

Best International Short Documentary
 - Olivia Kastebring, Julia Gumpert and Ulrika Bandeira (Sweden)

Best International Short Fiction
What Happened to Evie
 - Kate Cheeseman (UK)

Don Quixote Award for the Best Animated Short
Yunshí - James W Griffiths (UK) 

Best International Short Animation
The Driver Is Red
 - Randall Christopher (USA)

Best Short Documentary
 - Sean Mullan (UK)
Special Mention
Johnny - Hugh Rodgers (Ireland)

Donal Gilligan Award for Best Cinematography in a Short Film
Boy Saint
 - Kevin Treacy (Ireland)

Best Short Animation Award
The Usual
– Eabha Bortolozzo and Jack Kirwan (Ireland)

Best First Short Fiction Film
Boy Saint
 – Tom Speers (Ireland)

Best International First Feature
 [+see also:
film review
interview: Govinda Van Maele
film profile
 - Govinda Van Maele (Luxembourg/Belgium/Germany/France)

Best International Feature Documentary
 - Thomas Morgan (USA/Lebanon) 

Best International Feature
Steel Country
 - Simon Fellows (UK/USA)

Best Cinematography in an Irish Feature
When All Is Ruin Once Again
 [+see also:
film profile
 - Keith Walsh

Best Irish Feature Documentary
- Ross Whitaker 

Best Irish First Feature
Cellar Door
 - Viko Nikci 

Best Irish Feature
The Dig
- Ryan and Andrew Tohill (Northern Ireland)

Tiernan McBride Award for Best Short Drama
Wren Boys
 - Harry Lighton (UK) 

James Horgan Award for Best Animation
The Wiremen
 - Jessica Patterson (Ireland)

Bingham Ray New Talent Award
Jordanne Jones (actor) - Metal Heart (Ireland)

Best Human Rights Feature
Women of Venezuelan Chaos
 [+see also:
film profile
 - Margarita Cadenas (France/Venezuela)

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please subscribe to our newsletter to receive more stories like this directly in your inbox.