Grain (2017)
The Distances (2018)
Lemonade (2018)
Sunday's Illness (2018)
A Paris Education (2018)
Transit (2018)
Foxtrot (2017)
Choose your language en | es | fr | it


email print share on facebook share on twitter share on google+

Helena Bonham Carter, Tim Burton to receive BFI Fellowships


- Juries announced for festival awards

Helena Bonham Carter, Tim Burton to receive BFI Fellowships

Helena Bonham Carter and Tim Burton will each be presented with the British Film Institute’s highest honour, the BFI Fellowship, at the London Film Festival awards ceremony on October 20. Burton’s Frankenwenie opened this year’s festival and Bonham Carter stars in the closing film Great Expectations [+see also:
film profile

Bonham Carter said, “I am somewhat bewildered and not sure that I am deserving of such an honour as a Fellowship from the BFI, but shall accept it with deep gratitude.”

Burton said “I feel very touched and grateful to the BFI for this tremendous honour. It means more than I can put into words to receive the BFI Fellowship and to be included alongside the great directors who have received it before me.”

Meanwhile, the juries for the various awards have been announced. Writer/director David Hare (The Reader [+see also:
film profile
) will head the Best Film jury that also comprises Hong Kong film producer Nansun Shi, Argentine director Pablo Trapero, Victoria Pearman, producer of Crossfire Hurricane and President of Jagged films and British actress Romola Garai.

The jury for the Sutherland Award for feature debut directing talent is headed by journalist and former director of the Edinburgh International Film Festival, Hannah McGill and her fellow jurors comprise novelist Sebastian Faulks, filmmaker David Yates, producer of Warp Films, Robin Gutch, and actress Louise Brealey.

Producer David Heyman heads the jury for the Best British Newcomer Award and fellow jurors include actor Tom Hiddleston, actress Olivia Colman, author Kazuo Ishiguro, and director Eran Creevy.

Finale Plzen
Basque Cannes

latest news


more news


Follow us on

facebook twitter rss