One Floor Below (2015)
Louder Than Bombs (2015)
Son of Saul (2015)
Youth (2015)
The Measure of a Man (2015)
The Lobster (2015)
Mia Madre (2015)
Choose your language en | es | fr | it


email print share on facebook share on twitter share on google+

German Script Award 2013


- Post-war drama Freistatt wins prestigious prize

German Script Award 2013

For their script Freistatt, German writers Nicole Armbruster and Marc Brummund received the German Script Award 2013, which was presented at the Berlinale reception of the German Screenwriters' Guild.

The prize was awarded by Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media in Germany Bernd Neumann. "The writers portrayed the suffering of an institutionalized child in post-war Germany who becomes a subject and object of an imperious and brutal system of compulsion," Neumann said. "The script also facilitates the audience the possibility of friendship, resistance and gives the audience hope that even in unhuman conditions the dignity of the people is invulnerable."

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

The award includes prize money of 10,000 as well as development support up to 20,000. "A good script is very essential so that great films can be made," Neumann added. "Script support is one of the main tasks of the federal film funding in Germany. Therefore we etablished a drama department in 2002 where we mentor and advise the writers and help them to find a producer."

Swiss Films Cannes

latest news


more news


Follow us on

facebook twitter rss

CNC cannes banner