Foxtrot (2017)
Smuggling Hendrix (2018)
The Distances (2018)
Sunday's Illness (2018)
Lemonade (2018)
Transit (2018)
Grain (2017)
Choose your language en | es | fr | it

AWARDS Ireland / Japan / France / US

email print share on facebook share on twitter share on google+

Jean-Claude Carrière, Maureen O’Hara, Hayao Miyazaki conferred Honorary Oscars


- Harry Belafonte given Humanitarian Award

Jean-Claude Carrière, Maureen O’Hara, Hayao Miyazaki conferred Honorary Oscars
Legendary screenwriter Jean-Claude Carrière

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has awarded Honorary Oscars to Jean-Claude Carrière, Hayao Miyazaki and Maureen O’Hara, and the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award to Harry Belafonte. The awards, all of them Oscar statuettes, were presented November 8.

Carrière was introduced to screenwriting by French comedian and filmmaker Pierre Étaix, with whom he shared an Oscar for the live action short Happy Anniversary in 1962.  He received two more nominations during his long collaboration with director Luis Buñuel, for the screenplays for The Discreet Charm of the Bourgeoisie and That Obscure Object of Desire. He earned a fourth Oscar nomination for The Unbearable Lightness of Being with director Philip Kaufman.

O’Hara, a native of Dublin, Ireland, went to Hollywood in 1939 to star opposite Charles Laughton in The Hunchback of Notre Dame.  She was a favourite of director John Ford, who cast her in five films, including How Green Was My Valley, Rio Grande and The Quiet Man.

Miyazaki is a three-time Oscar nominee in the Animated Feature Film category, winning in 2002 for Spirited Away.  From the beginning of his film career, Belafonte chose projects that shed light on racism and inequality, including Carmen Jones, Odds against Tomorrow and The World, the Flesh and the Devil.  He was named a UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador in 1987 and currently serves on the boards of the Advancement Project and the Institute for Policy Studies.

Basque Cannes
Jihlava Film Fund

latest news


more news


Follow us on

facebook twitter rss