Grain (2017)
The Distances (2018)
Lemonade (2018)
Sunday's Illness (2018)
A Paris Education (2018)
Transit (2018)
Foxtrot (2017)
Choose your language en | es | fr | it


email print share on facebook share on twitter share on google+

45 Years wins Edinburgh


- Charlotte Rampling, James Cosmo share Performance award

45 Years wins Edinburgh
45 Years by Andrew Haigh

Andrew Haigh’s 45 Years [+see also:
film review
film focus
Q&A: Andrew Haigh
film profile
has won the Michael Powell Award for Best British Feature Film at the 69th Edinburgh Film Festival (17-28 June). The Jury citation stated: “This is a measured yet provocative film, a masterclass in understated acting that was the unanimous choice of the jury.” Haigh said, “All you can hope for when you make a film is that it resonates with people and that is why receiving an award such as this feels so fantastic.”

Charlotte Rampling for 45 Years and James Cosmo for The Pyramid Texts [+see also:
film profile
shared the award for Best Performance in a British Feature Film. Rampling said, “It is an extraordinary moment when you are singled out when the craft that you have been perfecting throughout your life is appreciated and rewarded.”

The award for Best International Feature Film went to Marielle Heller’s The Diary of a Teenage Girl (US).  Heller said, “Although this is an American film, it was made by a very international group, including our North Star, the British Bel Powley, whose brave performance is the heart of this film.”  The award for Best Documentary Feature Film was given to Crystal Moselle’s The Wolfpack (US). The Jury citation stated:  “Shot over five years, the director Crystal Moselle turned a chance encounter with six brothers into an intriguing, intimate portrait that shines a light on the warmth, humour and underlying tension of an extraordinary situation.”

Scrapbook directed by Mike Hoolboom won Best Short Film and the McLaren Award for Best New British Animation went to Stems by Ainslie HendersonJamie AdamsBlack Mountain Poets [+see also:
film profile
won the Student Critics Jury Award.

Finale Plzen Springboard
Basque Cannes

latest news


more news


Follow us on

facebook twitter rss