Foxtrot (2017)
Smuggling Hendrix (2018)
The Distances (2018)
Lemonade (2018)
Sunday's Illness (2018)
Transit (2018)
Grain (2017)
Choose your language en | es | fr | it


email print share on facebook share on twitter share on google+

The Legend of Barney Thomson wins Best Film and Best Actress at BAFTA Scotland


- David Elliot wins Best Actor for Kajaki

The Legend of Barney Thomson wins Best Film and Best Actress at BAFTA Scotland
The Legend of Barney Thomson by Robert Carlyle

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts in Scotland, BAFTA Scotland, announced the winners of this year’s British Academy Scotland Awards at a glamorous red-carpet ceremony in Glasgow on Sunday. Robert Carlyle’s The Legend of Barney Thomson [+see also:
film profile
won two of the four categories in which it was nominated, winning Best Feature Film for John G Lenic, Brian Coffey, Kaleena Kiff, Carlyle and Sigma Films/Trinity Works Entertainment/Icon Film Distribution. Emma Thompson won Best Actress for the film, while David Elliot won Best Actor for Kajaki: The True Story. Carlyle lost out on Best Director to Donald Coutts, who won for directing the television series Katie Morag. Film and television compete equally in most categories at BAFTA Scotland.

Ainslie Henderson’s Stems won the Animation Award, the third time in four years that he and long-term collaborator Will Anderson have been honoured by BAFTA Scotland, having picked up a British Academy Scotland Award in 2014 in the animation category and a BAFTA Scotland New Talent Award in 2012.  Henderson also received a BAFTA alongside Anderson for Short Animation at the British Academy Film Awards in 2013. Gregory Burke won Best Writer for ’71 [+see also:
film review
film focus
Q&A: Yann Demange
film profile

Jude MacLaverty, director of BAFTA Scotland, said, “It has been a wonderful evening, and this year’s winners highlight the diversity of international and national projects choosing Scotland as a filming destination and the rich seam of Scottish talent working throughout the UK. We offer our warmest congratulations to all our worthy winners.”

Basque Cannes
Jihlava Film Fund

latest news


more news


Follow us on

facebook twitter rss