Thelma (2017)
Sunbeat (2017)
The Nothing Factory (2017)
Lots of Kids, a Monkey and a Castle (2017)
Out (2017)
On Body and Soul (2017)
Redoubtable (2017)
Choose your language en | es | fr | it


email print share on facebook share on twitter share on google+

The European Film Awards introduce the Best Hair & Make-Up category


- The European Film Academy has also changed the submission deadline for this year’s European Film Awards

The European Film Awards introduce the Best Hair & Make-Up category

This year’s 29th European Film Awards will see the launch of a new award category: European Hair & Make-Up Artist. The move has been decided by the board of the European Film Academy (EFA) at its latest meeting in Berlin “to highlight the importance of hair and make-up artists in the creative process of filmmaking,” states EFA chairwoman Agnieszka Holland.

The European Film Academy is also shifting the submission deadline for the European Film Awards from 15 June to 31 May. This “change of our calendar,” says Holland, “allows us to extend the time the voting EFA Members have to watch the proposed movies.” 

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

The eligibility date remains the same for this year, i.e. films must have had their first official screening (be it at a festival or at a regular cinema) after 1 July 2015. From next year on, this date will be adjusted to fit the new submission date so that in order to be eligible for the European Film Awards 2017 films must have had their first official screening after 1 June 2016.

The recipient of the new award for hair & make-up will be determined by the special excellence awards jury. This jury, already part of EFA's awarding procedures, consists of representatives of the different arts and crafts and selects the award recipients in each of the following categories: European Cinematographer – Prix Carlo di Palma, European Editor, European Production Designer, European Costume Designer, European Hair & Make-Up Artist, European Composer, European Sound Designer. As in the past, the recipients in the other categories will be elected by the more than 3,000 members of the European Film Academy.

Presented in a total of 22 categories, the 29th European Film Awards will take place in Wroclaw (Poland), European Capital of Culture 2016, on 10 December.

Les Arcs call

latest news


more news


Follow us on

facebook twitter rss