Sunday's Illness (2018)
Lemonade (2018)
Nico, 1988 (2017)
Arrhythmia (2017)
Disappearance (2016)
Custody (2017)
9 Fingers (2017)
Choose your language en | es | fr | it


email print share on facebook share on twitter share on google+

The 15th edition of Transilvania IFF ready to kick off


- Sophia Loren is to receive the Lifetime Achievement Award at the closing gala

The 15th edition of Transilvania IFF ready to kick off
Actress Sophia Loren

The first screenings have already begun at the 15th edition of the Transilvania International Film Festival (27 May-5 June, Cluj-Napoca), but the festival’s organisers are waiting till this evening to kick off the gathering with a bang. Hosted by the vast Unirii Square in the centre of Cluj-Napoca, the opening gala will show Nae Caranfil’s 6.9 on the Richter Scale [+see also:
film review
film focus
interview: Nae Caranfil
film profile
as a world premiere, to an audience of more than 1,000. 

With over 215 features from 64 countries, TIFF reconfirms its status as Romania’s biggest film event. The 15th edition also has one of cinema’s greatest as a special guest: Italian actress Sophia Loren, who will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award at the closing gala.

Among the festival’s attractions there are sections dedicated to directors and certain countries. Lithuania benefits from particular attention, with director Sharunas Bartas invited in the 3x3 sidebar, and ten classic or recent films selected in Focus Lithuania. Two other Focuses will present new films from Croatia and Lebanon, while late Belgian director Chantal Akerman and Turkish filmmaker Zeki Demirkubuz will also be presented in the 3x3 sidebar.

Besides the main competition (read the news) and the Romanian Days competition (read the news), this edition also has ten films vying for the FIPRESCI Prize, all grouped into the #Animal section, as they feature animals as the triggers or the heroes of the story.

The Supernova sidebar will show 25 recent award-winning movies, while the titles selected in the Shadows and No Limit sidebars seem determined to scare or shock the audience.

Scottish producer Iain Smith will receive the Transilvania Trophy for Special Contribution to World Cinema, while Romanian actresses Carmen Galin and Lujza Orosz will receive the Honorary Awards.

Let's CEE
Finale Plzen

latest news


more news


Follow us on

facebook twitter rss