Bloody Milk (2017)
The Captain (2017)
Razzia (2017)
Custody (2017)
The Prayer (2018)
9 Fingers (2017)
After the War (2017)
Choose your language en | es | fr | it


email print share on facebook share on twitter share on google+

The European Film Academy honours Jean-Claude Carrière


- The European Film Academy will present Jean-Claude Carrière as an honorary guest at the 29th European Film Awards ceremony on 10 December in Wroclaw

The European Film Academy honours Jean-Claude Carrière

The forthcoming 29th edition of the European Film Awards, which will take place in Wroclaw on 10 December, will feature Jean-Claude Carrière as its honorary guest. The European Film Academy has decided to honour this well-known French novelist, screenwriter and actor with the Lifetime Achievement Award due to his astonishing lifetime work and his experience that he has poured into the film world.

Jean-Claude Carrière began his prolific career inspired by the films of Jacques Tati and writing short novels based on them. This led him to meet Pierre Etaix, the French clown, comedian and filmmaker Carrière would work with by making several films, such as Happy Anniversary (1962), which earned them an Oscar.

He is also known for his frequent collaborations with Luis Buñuel, with whom he began their 19-year-collaborations with the writing of the screenplay of Diary of a Chambermaid (1964), in which he also participated by playing a village priest. After that, he would collaborate on the scripts of almost all of Buñuel’s later films, such as Belle de Jour (1967), The Milky Way (1969), The Discreet Charm of the Bourgeoisie - which won them a BAFTA for Best Screenplay - (1972), The Phantom of Liberty (1974) and That Obscure Object of Desire (1977).

Throughout his career, he also collaborated on the writing of the screenplays for The Tin Drum (1979) and for Swann In Love (1984), both directed by Volker Schlöndorff; for Cyrano de Bergerac (1990), directed by Jean-Paul Rappeneau; and for May Fools (1990), directed by Louis Malle.

In recent years he co-authored the screenplay for Birth (2004), directed by Jonathan Glazer; was script adviser for the award-festooned The White Ribbon [+see also:
film review
film focus
interview: Michael Haneke
film profile
 (2009), directed by Michael Haneke; and co-authored last year's EFA Selection entry In The Shadow Of Women [+see also:
film review
film profile
(2015), directed by Philippe Garrel.

Carrière has been recognised throughout his career as well. He was again a BAFTA winner for The Unbearable Lightness of Being (1988), which he co-wrote with the film's director, Philip Kaufman; and won a French César Award for his collaboration on the script for The Return of Martin Guerre (1982), directed by Daniel Vigne. Among these distinctions, in 2015, Jean-Claude Carrière received an honorary Oscar, and will again scoop honours as an honorary guest next 10 December in the European Film Awards ceremony in Wroclaw.

Contest Savoia
Swiss Films DocsSpring

latest news


more news


Follow us on

facebook twitter rss