Kissing Candice (2017)
3 Days in Quiberon (2018)
Daughter of Mine (2018)
The Real Estate (2018)
The Prayer (2018)
Transit (2018)
U - July 22 (2018)
Choose your language en | es | fr | it

TURIN 2016 Industry

email print share on facebook share on twitter share on google+

TorinoFilmLab hands out its awards, totalling €470,000


- Among the winners of the Production and Co-production Awards are the Italian title The Guest by Duccio Chiarini and Croatia's The Staffroom by Sonja Tarokić

TorinoFilmLab hands out its awards, totalling €470,000
Director Duccio Chiarini with producer Tommaso Arrighi (© TFF)

As is the case every year, 14 prizes totalling €470,000, in support of the development, production and distribution of new films by up-and-coming talents, were given out at the end of the TFL Meeting Event, the ninth edition of which officially drew to a close today in Turin (click here and here to read more). After considering the nine projects presented in the FrameWork programme of the TorinoFilmLab (intended for titles at an advanced stage of development), the international jury chaired by the director of the Venice Film Festival and chair of the TFL advisory board, Alberto Barbera, chose to give the three TFL Production Awards to The Guest by Duccio Chiarini, The Orphanage by Shahrbanoo Sadat and The Staffroom by Sonja Tarokić: each of the three projects thus receives €40,000.

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

Meanwhile, prizes worth €50,000 went to the three movies that scooped the TFL Co-Production Award, all of which are non-European but see the involvement of France: Port Authority by Danielle Lessovitz, The Fever by Maya Da-Rin and Yalda by Massoud Bakhshi. The latter also pocketed the Audience Award, worth €30,000, voted on by the decision makers who attended the Meeting Event and chosen from among the FrameWork projects. Lastly, the brand-new LAGO Award, a prize of €5,000 for the development of a project chosen from among those in Script&Pitch and AdaptLab, was bestowed upon Imperium by Jan-Ole Gerster.

Here is the complete list of winners at the ninth TFL Meeting Event:

TFL Production Award (€40,000)
The Guest – Duccio Chiarini (Italy/France/Switzerland) 
The Orphanage – Shahrbanoo Sadat (Denmark/Afghanistan/Poland) 
The Staffroom – Sonja Tarokić (Croatia)

TFL Co-Production Award (€50,000)
Port Authority – Danielle Lessovitz (USA/France) 
The Fever – Maya Da-Rin (Brazil/France) 
Yalda – Massoud Bakhshi (Iran/France)

Audience Award (€30,000)
Yalda – Massoud Bakhshi

TFL Audience Design Fund Award (€40,000) – in support of the implementation of innovative audience engagement strategies upon distribution
Apprentice [+see also:
film profile
– Boo Junfeng (Singapore/France/Germany/Hong Kong/Qatar)
Felicity [+see also:
film review
film focus
interview: Alain Gomis
film profile
– Alain Gomis (France/Senegal/Belgium/Lebanon/Germany)
Jesús [+see also:
film review
film profile
– Fernando Guzzoni (France/Chile/Germany/Colombia/Greece)
The Wound [+see also:
film review
film profile
– John Trengove (South Africa/Germany/the Netherlands/France)

LAGO Award (€5,000) 
Imperium – Jan-Ole Gerster (Germany)

EP2C Post-Production Award – intended for a FrameWork project, allows the producer to take part in a post-production workshop and includes €5,000 in post-production services at the Filmmore studios in Amsterdam or Brussels
Gal Greenspan, of Green Productions (Israel), producer of Shake Your Cares Away by Tom Shoval

Digital Production Challenge II Award – given to a Script&Pitch project, comprises participation in the DPC II workshop
Zama – Philippe Lacôte (France/Ivory Coast)

(Translated from Italian)

Swiss Films Shorts
WBI Berlinale
Shooting Stars 2018

latest news


more news


Follow us on

facebook twitter rss