Kissing Candice (2017)
3 Days in Quiberon (2018)
Daughter of Mine (2018)
The Real Estate (2018)
The Prayer (2018)
Transit (2018)
U - July 22 (2018)
Choose your language en | es | fr | it


email print share on facebook share on twitter share on google+

Omnipresent wins the top award at Varna


- Directions, 3/4 and Light Thereafter were also among the winners of the Bulgarian event

Omnipresent wins the top award at Varna
Omnipresent by Ilian Djevelekov

The 35th edition of the Golden Rose Film Festival (30 September–7 October, Varna) ended with a resounding success for Ilian Djevelekov’s Omnipresent [+see also:
film profile
, which received the Best Feature Film, Best Actress, Best Actor and Audience Awards. The latter trophy is an especially good omen, as the film is being released in Bulgaria this Friday.

Besides their obvious preference for Omnipresent, the jurors led by Bulgarian film critic Bojidar Manov seemed eager to bestow their love upon as many features as possible: seven of the 16 features in competition took home an award or at least a Special Mention, which was perhaps the reason why the gathering’s wrap party was especially cheerful.

(The article continues below - Commercial information)IDW Supsi Internal

Here is the full list of winners:

Best Feature Film
Omnipresent [+see also:
film profile
- Ilian Djevelekov (Bulgaria)
Honourable Mention
Directions [+see also:
film review
film focus
interview: Stephan Komandarev
film profile
- Stephan Komandarev (Bulgaria/Germany/Macedonia)

Special Award of the City of Varna
Enemies - Svetoslav Ovtcharov (Bulgaria)

Best Director
Ilian Metev – ¾ [+see also:
film review
interview: Ilian Metev
film profile

Best Screenplay
Teodora Markova, Georgi Ivanov, Nevena Kertova, Teo Chepilov – Bubblegum (Bulgaria)

Best Cinematographer
Nenad Boroevich - Light Thereafter [+see also:
film review
film profile

Best Actress
Teodora Duhovnikova – Omnipresent
Irini Jambonas - Directions

Best Actor
Velislav Pavlov - Omnipresent

Best First Feature
Radiogram [+see also:
film review
film profile
- Rouzie Hassanova (Bulgaria)
Special Mention
Lilly the Little Fish - Yassen Grigorov (Bulgaria)

Audience Award
Omnipresent - Ilian Djevelekov

Best Short Film
Sunflower Spaceship 1 - Vasil Goranov (Bulgaria/Italy/Netherlands)
Special Mentions
- Jonathan Heidelberger (Bulgaria)
Nights of a Lonely Messenger - Andrey Koulev (Bulgaria)

Swiss Film Berlin
WBI Berlinale
Shooting Stars 2018

latest news


more news


Follow us on

facebook twitter rss