email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on LinkedIn share on reddit pin on Pinterest


by Jan Kounen


Paris 1913, Coco Chanel is devoted to her work and madly in love with the handsome and very wealthy Arthur ‘Boy’ Capel. At the Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, Igor Stravinsky premieres his Rite of Spring. Coco attends the premiere and is mesmerised. But the revolutionary work is too modern, too radical: the enraged audience boos and jeers. A near-riot ensues. Stravinsky is inconsolable. 7 years later. Now rich, respected and successful, Coco is devastated by Boy Capel’s death. She meets Stravinsky again – now a penniless refugee living in exile in Paris after the Russian Revolution, The attraction between them is immediate and electric. Coco offers Stravinsky the use of her new villa in Garches, so that he will be able to work, and he moves in straight away, with his children and consumptive wife. And so a passionate, intense love affair between two creative giants begins…

international title: Coco Chanel & Igor Stravinsky
original title: Coco Chanel & Igor Stravinsky
country: France
sales agent: Goodfellas
year: 2009
genre: fiction
directed by: Jan Kounen
release date: NO 31/07/2009, GR 24/09/2009, PT 03/12/2009, SE 11/12/2009, FR 30/12/2009, BE 06/01/2010, SI 31/01/2009, DK 11/02/2010, HU 04/03/2010, NL 25/03/2010, AT 06/04/2010, DE 15/04/2010, EE 02/07/2010, UK 06/08/2010
screenplay: Chris Greenhalgh, Carlo De Boutiny, Jan Kounen
cast: Anna Mouglalis, Mads Mikkelsen, Elena Morozova, Grigori Manoukov, Nicolas Vaude, Anatole Taubman, Natacha Lindinger
cinematography by: David Ungaro
film editing: Anny Danché
art director: Marie-Hélène Sulmini
music: Gabriel Yared
producer: Claudie Ossard, Chris Bolzli, Veronika Zonabend
production: Eurowide Film Production
distributor: Oro Film, Nos Lusomundo Audiovisuais, Wild Bunch Distribution, Cinéart, Soda Pictures, Camera Film, September Film Distribution Netherlands, Szuez Film

Privacy Policy