email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on reddit pin on Pinterest


by Theo Angelopoulos


The Weaping Meadow is the first film of a Trilogy, and is set in Greece between 1919 and 1949. It begins with the entry of the Red Army into Odessa, the flight of the Greek community and the end of the Greek civil war.

With the references to the Thebaid cycle, the 3 films that make up Trilogy follow the destiny of Hellenism as seen through the relationship of two people who first met as children in 1919 during the fight of the Greeks from Odessa, only to lose each other and find each other again again in different times and places, living through the great historic events of the 20th century and the turn of 21st.

international title: The Weeping Meadow
original title: Trilogia: To livadi pou dakryzei
country: Greece, France, Italy, Germany
sales agent: Celluloid Dreams
year: 2004
genre: fiction
directed by: Theo Angelopoulos
film run: 177'
screenplay: Theo Angelopoulos
cast: Vassilis Kolovòs, Eva Kotamanidou
cinematography by: Andreas Sinanos
film editing: Giorgos Triantafyllon
art director: Kostas Dmitriadis
costumes designer: Ioulla Stavridou
producer: Amedeo Pagani, Giorgio Silvagni, Jean- Philippe Labadie
production: BAC Films, Intermedias, Storie, Greek Film Centre (GR)
(The article continues below - Commercial information)

Privacy Policy