email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on reddit pin on Pinterest


by Niels Arden Oplev


Forty years ago, Harriet Vanger disappeared from a family gathering on the island owned and inhabited by the powerful Vanger clan. Her body was never found, yet her uncle is convinced it was murder and that the killer is a member of his own tightly knit but dysfunctional family. He employs disgraced financial journalist Mikael Blomkvist and the tattooed, ruthless computer hacker Lisbeth Salander to investigate. When the pair link Harriet’s disappearance to a number of grotesque murders from almost forty years ago, they begin to unravel a dark and appalling family history. But the Vangers are a secretive clan, and Blomkvist and Salander are about to find out just how far they are prepared to go to protect themselves.
Based on the trilogy of books by Stieg Larsson.

international title: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
original title: Män som hatar kvinnor
country: Sweden, Denmark
sales agent: Zodiak Entertainment
year: 2009
genre: fiction
directed by: Niels Arden Oplev
film run: 145'
release date: DK/SE 27/02/2009, NO 13/03/2009, FI 27/03/2009, BE/FR 13/05/2009, IT 23/05/2009, SK 03/06/2010, CZ 01/07/2010, RO 09/07/2010
screenplay: Nicolaj Arcel, Rasmus Heisterberg
cast: Michael Nyqvist, Noomi Rapace, Sven-Bertil Taube, Lena Endre, Ingvar Hirdwall, Peter Andersson, Peter Haber, Marika Lagerkrantz, Ewa Fröling
cinematography by: Eric Kress
film editing: Anne Østerud
art director: Niels Sejer
costumes designer: Cilla Rörby
music: Jacob Groth
producer: Søren Stærmose
production: Yellow Bird Production, Zweites Deutsches Fernsehen (ZDF), Sveriges Television AB - SVT, DR, TV2 Norge, Nordisk Film och TV Fond, Filmpool Stockholm Mälardalen, Spiltan, Film i Väst
backing: Swedish Film Institute, Danish Film Institute
distributor: Nordisk Film Distribution AB, UGC Distribution, Nordisk Film AB, BIM Distribuzione, Bontonfilm, TatraFilm, Independenta Film, Sony Pictures Releasing UK
(The article continues below - Commercial information)
series serie

Privacy Policy