Film Reviews

3866 film reviews available in total starting from 04/09/2002. Last updated on 14/10/2019. 728 film reviews inserted in the last 12 months.

I Am (Not) a Monster by Nelly Ben Hayoun-Stépanian

14/10/2019

Nelly Ben Hayoun-Stépanian concocts a documentary about the origins of knowledge that is as whimsical as it is thought-provoking  

I Am (Not) a Monster

I Am (Not) a Monster

Fanny Lye Deliver'd by Thomas Clay

14/10/2019

In the aftermath of the English Civil War, a devout Puritan family shelters a mysterious couple, in British auteur Thomas Clay’s third feature  

Fanny Lye Deliver'd

Fanny Lye Deliver'd

Valan – Valley of Angels by Béla Bagota

14/10/2019

With his first feature film - an effective police thriller set in Transylvania - Hungarian filmmaker Béla Bagota shows promising directorial skill  

Valan (Az utolsó hívás)

Valan (Az utolsó hívás)

Fritzi: A Revolutionary Tale by Matthias Bruhn, Ralf Kukula

11/10/2019

Matthias Bruhn and Ralf Kukula look at the social changes of 1989 through the eyes of a 12-year-old  

Fritzi: Eine Wendewundergeschichte

Fritzi: Eine Wendewundergeschichte

Paradise Hills by Alice Waddington

11/10/2019

A soap bubble of sorts, Alice Waddington’s first work, presented in a world premiere at the recent Sundance Film Festival, shines momentarily before bursting into oblivion  

Paradise Hills

Paradise Hills

Rare Beasts by Billie Piper

09/10/2019

A twisted relationship provides the ammunition for actress Billie Piper to take patriarchy to task in this audacious debut  

Rare Beasts

Rare Beasts

The Voice by Ognjen Svilicic

09/10/2019

Ognjen Sviličić trains his piercing spotlight on the influence of the Catholic Church on Croatian society  

Glas

Glas

White Riot by Rubika Shah

08/10/2019

The activist group Rock Against Racism, a key player in 1970s UK punk rock, gets a timely documentary tribute from director Rubika Shah  

White Riot

White Riot

Suicide Tourist by Jonas Alexander Arnby

07/10/2019

Denmark’s Jonas Alexander Arnby delivers a mystery-drama that’s more drama than mystery, but all class nonetheless  

Selvmordsturisten

Selvmordsturisten

Our Ladies by Michael Caton-Jones

07/10/2019

Michael Caton-Jones brings a charming and bittersweet coming-of-age story, adapted from Alan Warner's best-selling novel The Sopranos, to London  

Our Ladies

Our Ladies