Film Reviews

3450 film reviews available in total starting from 04/09/2002. Last updated on 21/03/2019. 701 film reviews inserted in the last 12 months.

God Exists, Her Name Is Petrunija by Teona Strugar Mitevska

11/02/2019

BERLIN 2019: Macedonian filmmaker Teona Mitevska returns to the Berlinale with a film that opposes tradition and patriarchy in an accomplished, punky manner  

God Exists, Her Name Is Petrunija

God Exists, Her Name Is Petrunija

A Dog Called Money by Seamus Murphy

10/02/2019

BERLIN 2019: Seamus Murphy's PJ Harvey documentary is sumptuously shot, but struggles to choose a precise narrative path and lacks consistency  

A Dog Called Money

A Dog Called Money

By the Name of Tania by Mary Jimenez, Bénédicte Liénard

10/02/2019

BERLIN 2019: Mary Jimenez and Bénédicte Liénard present a hybrid documentary with a bold narrative bias  

By the Name of Tania

By the Name of Tania

Baracoa by Pablo Briones, The Moving Picture Boys

10/02/2019

BERLIN 2019: This documentary about two Cuban boys was born from the minds of three untiring researchers, the Argentine Pablo Briones and The Moving Picture Boys  

Baracoa

Baracoa

Chained by Yaron Shani

10/02/2019

BERLIN 2019: The second instalment in Yaron Shani's "Love Trilogy" is a police thriller that turns into a family drama, with non-professionals in the main roles  

Eynayim Sheli

Eynayim Sheli

Sune vs. Sune by Jon Holmberg

10/02/2019

BERLIN 2019: Jon Holmberg's directorial debut is a light-hearted comedy, not dazzling in originality, but full of funny moments, and very well received by the younger audience  

Sune vs. Sune

Sune vs. Sune

Just Don't Think I'll Scream by Frank Beauvais

10/02/2019

BERLIN 2019: In his first feature, Frank Beauvais offers up an intimate confession, an illustrated journal of sorts, adorned with an incredible profusion of images borrowed from a myriad of films  

Ne croyez surtout pas que je hurle

Ne croyez surtout pas que je hurle

All My Loving by Edward Berger

10/02/2019

BERLIN 2019: Edward Berger returns to the Berlinale with a subtle drama about adults who are increasingly crushed in their seemingly comfortable lives  

All My Loving

All My Loving

Out Stealing Horses by Hans Petter Moland

10/02/2019

BERLIN 2019: Norway’s Hans Petter Moland takes on countryman Per Petterson’s much-loved and hard-to-adapt bestseller with beautiful results, thanks to trusty Swede Stellan Skarsgård  

Ut og stjæle hester

Ut og stjæle hester

The Miracle of the Sargasso Sea by Syllas Tzoumerkas

10/02/2019

BERLIN 2019: The long-awaited new film by Syllas Tzoumerkas, exploring issues of identity, belonging, family and missed opportunities, has finally hit the Berlinale Panorama  

To thávma tis tháLassas ton Sargassón

To thávma tis tháLassas ton Sargassón