email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on reddit pin on Pinterest


Academy announces nominees for first Film Awards


In a press conference held yesterday, the Hellenic Film Academy announced the nominees for its first-ever Film Awards, set to be presented on May 3.

The Academy’s awards, which remain unnamed for their first year, are to replace the State Awards that had been so far handed out by a committee selected by the Ministry of Culture, in a process that caused significant distress with reports and innuendos of favoritism.

Panos Koutras’ Berlinale-screened Strella leads the nominations tally with 11, followed by acclaimed director Panos Voulgaris’ box office hit Deep Soul (nine nominations), while last year’s Un Certain Regard winner Dogtooth, by Yorgos Lanthimos, came in third with a total of eight nominations.

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

All three films are up for the Best Picture award, a category that is rounded up by Locarno’s Best Actor awarded film Plato’s Academy and the unexpected entry of Vasilis MazomenosGuilt, a three-act drama revisiting the modern history of Cyprus.

Guilt has no other nominations in any of the 19 categories, and its inclusion in the Best Picture category is regarded as a combination of the Academy’s first case of lobbying, as well as an indicator that the Academy should reconsider its policy of one vote per voter – as opposed to a weighted voting system.

In the debut director category, Argyris Papadimitropoulos with his mega-hit Bank Bang and Margarita Manda for her work in Gold Dust are up against Vardis Marinakis and his debut feature Black Field, which will screen out of competition at this year’s Karlovy Vary Festival.

Full list of nominees:

Best Feature Film – Fiction
Plato’s Academy [+see also:
film review
interview: Constantin Moriatis
interview: Filippos Tsitos
interview: Filippos Tsitos
film profile
- Constantinos Moriatis
Guilt - Vassilis Mazomenos, Roula Nikolaou
Dogtooth [+see also:
film review
interview: Yorgos Lanthimos
film profile
- Yorgos Lanthimos, Yorgos Tsourgiannis, Iraklis Mavroidis
Strella [+see also:
film profile
- Panos Koutras, Eleni Kossifidou
Deep Soul - Yiannis Iakovidis, Eleni Berde

Best Director
Plato’s Academy - Filippos Tsitos
Dogtooth - Yorgos Lanthimos
Strella - Panos Koutras

Best Debut Director
Bank Bang - Argiris Papadimitropoulos
Black Field [+see also:
film review
interview: Vardis Marinakis
film profile
- Vardis Marinakis
Gold Dust - Margarita Manda

Best Feature Film - Documentary
There Was No Other Way - Stavros Psillakis
National Garden - Maria Yenekou
Xenes se Xeni Hora - Dimitris Panayotatos

Best Screenplay
Plato’s Academy - Alexis Kardaras, Filippos Tsitos
Dogtooth - Yorgos Lanthimos, Efthimis Filippou
Strella - Panos Koutras, Panajotis Evangelidis

Best Actor
Plato’s Academy - Antonis Kafetzopoulos
Dogtooth - Hristos Stergioglou
Strella - Yannis Kokiasmenos

Best Actress
Dogtooth - Angeliki Papoulia
Ricordi Mi - Theodora Tzimou
Strella - Mina Orfanou

Best Supporting Actor
Bank Bang - Costas Voutsas
Dogtooth - Hristos Passalis
The Building Manager - Costas Voutsas

Best Supporting Actress
Strella - Betty Vakalidou
Gold Dust - Anna Mascha
Deep Soul - Victoria Haralampidou

Best Cinematography
Black Field - Marcus Waterloo
Ricordi Mi - Elias Konstantakopoulos
Deep Soul - Simos Sarketzis

Best Editor
Dogtooth - Yorgos Mavropsaridis
Ricordi Mi - Alexis Pezas
Strella - Yiannis Halkiadakis

Best Costume Design
Black Field - Yorgos Georgiou
Strella - Vassilis Barbarigos
Deep Soul - Loukia Hatzelou

Best Set Design
Black Field - Yorgos Georgiou
Strella - Pinelopi Valti
Deep Soul - Apostolos Vettas

Best Original Score
Strella - Michael Delta
Fugitive Pieces - Nikos Kypourgos
Deep Soul - Yiannis Angelakas

Best Make-up
Strella - Apollonia B., Mary Stavrakaki
Evil in the Time of Heroes - Yanna Marmataki
Deep Soul - Kiriaki Mellidou, Ivon Ivanova

Best Sound Design
Eden is West [+see also:
film profile
- Thanassis Arvanitis
Ricordi Mi - Nikos Papadimitriou, Alice Panayi, Costas Varimpopiotis
Deep Soul - Stefanos Euthymiou, Dimitris Voutsas, Panos Voutsaras, Costas Varimpopiotis

Best Special Effects and Cinematic Innovation
Dogtooth - Yorgos Alahouzos, Roulis Alahouzos
Evil in the Time of Heroes - Petros Nousias
Deep Soul - Jordan Zahariev

Best Short Film
Apografi - Vangelis Kalampakas, Panayotis Kiriakoulakos
And Me for Myself - Tzortzis Grigorakis
Mesecina - Sophia Exarchou, Elina Psikou
Meta to Haractiristiko Iho - Ahileas Kiriakidis
O Skilos - Nikos Labot

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please subscribe to our newsletter to receive more stories like this directly in your inbox.