email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on reddit pin on Pinterest

AWARDS Denmark

Melancholia makes statement without von Trier in sweeping Denmark’s Roberts


Melancholia makes statement without von Trier in sweeping Denmark’s Roberts

The man who wasn’t there was the man in focus, when the Danish Film Academy last night (February 5) awarded its Robert prizes at Copenhagen’s Cirkusbygningen. Already bestowed by the European Film Acadamy, Danish director Lars von Trier’s Melancholia [+see also:
film review
interview: Lars von Trier
film profile
collected ten statuettes, including Best Film, Director, Script, adding Best Actress (Kirsten Dunst), Supporting Actress (Charlotte Gainsbourg).

Currently preparing his upcoming Nymphomaniac – so far he has signed Swedish actor Stellan Skarsgård – von Trier has refrained from public statements since the French police dropped charges for glorifying war crimes after the screening of Melancholia in Cannes. “Lars has nothing to say – or he has, but he won’t,” said a spokesperson for his production company, Zentropa Entertainments.

(The article continues below - Commercial information)
series serie

Danish actors Nikolaj Lie Kaas and Lars Ranthe were honoured for their lead and supporting roles, respectively, in Martin P Zandvliet’s A Funny Man [+see also:
film profile

There was not much left for other local features, but Danish director Nicolas Winding Refn's Drive won for Best US Film.


Best Film
Melancholia - Lars von Trier
Producers - Meta Louise Foldager, Louise Vesth, for
Zentropa Entertainments

Best Film for Children and Young Audiences
Rebounce - Heidi Maria Faisst
Producers: Heidi Maria Faisst. Prod: Meta Louise Foldager, for Zentropa Entertainments

Best Actor
Nikolaj Lie Kaas - A Funny Man
Best Actress
Kirsten Dunst - Melancholia

Best Supporting Actor
Lars Ranthe - A Funny Man

Best Supporting Actress
Charlotte Gainsbourg - Melancholia

Best Director
Lars von Trier - Melancholia

Best Original Screenplay
Lars von Trier - Melancholia

Best Cinematography
Manuel Alberto Claro - Melancholia

Best Production Design
Jette Lehmann - Melancholia

Best Costume Design
Stine Gudmundsen-Holmgren - A Funny Man

Best Make-Up
Lis Kasper Bang - A Funny Man

Best Special Effects
Hummer Højmark, Peter Hjorth - Melancholia

Best Sound Design
Kristian Eidnes Andersen – Melancholia

Best Editing

Molly Malene Stensgaard – Melancholia

Best Musical Score
Sune Martin - A Funny Man

Best Song
A Funny Man (Jeppe Kaas)

Best Short Documentary
The Time We Have - Mira Jargil
Producers: Elisabeth Victoria Poulsen, for The Danish National Fulm School

Best Long Documentary
The Ambassador - Mads Brügger
Producerss: Peter Engel, Carsten Holst, for Zentropa Real

Best American Film
Drive - Nicolas Winding Refn

Best Non-US Film
The King’s Speech [+see also:
film review
interview: Tom Hooper
film profile
- Tom Hooper

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please subscribe to our newsletter to receive more stories like this directly in your inbox.

Privacy Policy