email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on reddit pin on Pinterest


The Tempo Documentary Festival unveils its awards


- Sweden's largest documentary festival has wrapped its 19th edition by handing out a raft of prizes

The Tempo Documentary Festival unveils its awards
The winners of the Tempo Documentary Festival (© Stephanie Stenstad)

Founded in 1998, the Tempo Documentary Festival (7-13 March), which every year shines a spotlight on creative works from all over the world that investigate experimental forms of expression crossing genre boundaries, has wrapped its 19th edition by handing out its awards.

Named after the Swedish documentary filmmaker, the Stefan Jarl International Documentary Award went to Mr. Gaga [+see also:
film profile
 by Tomer Heymann, a feature documentary about choreographer Ohad Naharin. The jury (comprising Ellen Tejle, Annika Wik and Juan Libossart) explained its decision by arguing that through stylish, meaningful sequences, this film manages to create a deep portrait of a character while offering us a greater understanding of dance as an unlimited artistic expression”.

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

On the other hand, Martha & Niki – which depicts the story of Martha Nabwire and Niki Tsappos, who were awarded the world championship prize in hip hop at Juste Debout, the world’s biggest street-dance contest, in Paris in 2010 – won the Tempo Documentary Award, supported by the Swedish Film Institute and the City of Stockholm. In addition, Tora Mårtens, the director, was also awarded with 75,000 krona (€8,100).

In the competition for the best Swedish short documentary, supported by the Swedish Film Institute and Filmregion Stockholm-Mälardalen, Ida Lindgren's The Body Is a Lonely Place snagged the Tempo Short Award along with 75,000 krona, while an Honourable Mention was given to Moa Junström’s The loony-bin!.

Roxane von Gerber Hedayat and Moa Kjellstrand won the New Doc Award for up-and-coming filmmakers from the Stockholm region, which consists of 50,000 krona (€5,400) from Filmbasen/Film Stockholm (half of which comprises technical support), thanks to their powerful Hotel Kristineberg, a documentary about an abandoned hotel that served as temporary housing for about 50 people before its demolition. 

Furthermore, Simon Moser's Mikael född 1975 won the 5,000 krona (€540) prize in Short Dox Radio, a competition where a three-minute story is chosen by a jury, while Påtvingat liv by Taina Adolfsson collected the Honourable Mention.

Lastly, Josefin & Florin by Ellen Fiske and Joanna Karlberg won the Tempo Pitch competition, a section established in collaboration with, and financed by, SVT Dokumentär, the Swedish Film Institute and Filmregion Stockhlom-Mälardalen, where film directors and producers present their new projects in front of a jury and audience. Their award consisted of 75,000 krona in development funds for their project.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Tempo Documentary Award
Martha & Niki – Tora Mårtens

Stefan Jarl International Documentary Award
Mr Gaga – Tomer Heymann

Stefan Jarl International Documentary Award Honourable Mentions
Flotel Europa [+see also:
film review
film profile
– Vladimir Tomić
A Flickering Truth – Pietra Brettkelly 

Tempo Short Award
The Body is a Lonely Place – Ida Lindgren

Tempo Short Award Honourable Mention
The loony-bin! – Moa Junström

New Doc Award
Hotel Kristineberg – Roxane von Gerber Hedayat and Moa Kjellstrand 

New Doc Award Honourable Mention
The Family – Ika Johannesson 

Short Dox Radio Award
Mikael född 1975 – Simon Moser 

Short Dox Radio Award Honourable Mention
Påtvingat liv – Taina Adolfsson

Tempo Pitch Award
Josefin & Florin – Ellen Fiske and Joanna Karlberg

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please subscribe to our newsletter to receive more stories like this directly in your inbox.