email print share on facebook share on twitter share on google+

BERLIN 2018 Jury

Berlin announces jury members, tributes


- Cécile de France, Chema Prado, Adele Romanski, Ryūichi Sakamoto and Stephanie Zacharek are to join jury president Tom Tykwer, while Willem Dafoe is to receive an Honorary Golden Bear

Berlin announces jury members, tributes
Adele Romanski, Tom Tykwer, Stephanie Zacharek, Chema Prado, Cécile de France, Ryūichi Sakamoto (© Berlinale)

During the programme press conference today in Berlin, the 68th Berlin International Film Festival (15-25 February) announced the members of the jury for the Competition section, as well as the honorary prizes that will be bestowed upon beloved film professionals this year.

Joining the president of the Competition jury, director, screenwriter, film composer and producer Tom Tykwer (read the news), are Belgian actress Cécile de France, Spanish photographer and former director of the Filmoteca Española Chema Prado, US producer Adele Romanski, Japanese composer Ryūichi Sakamoto and US film critic Stephanie Zacharek. These six hand-picked film professionals - a smaller number than usual - will be presenting the Golden Bear and all of the Silver Bears on 24 February.

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

It is worth noting that the GWFF Best First Feature Award jury was announced previously. Italian director Jonas Carpignano, Romanian director Călin Peter Netzer and Israel's Jerusalem Cinematheque director Noa Regev will be in charge of selecting the best debut feature film from the Competition, Panorama, Forum, Generation or Perspektive Deutsches Kino sections.

On the other hand, this year's Homage section, accompanied by an Honorary Golden Bear, will be presented to US actor Willem Dafoe. Last but not least, the Berlinale Camera 2018, an award honouring individuals and institutions from the world of film that the festival feels particularly connected to, will be bestowed upon European Film Market president Beki Probst, producer and Israel Film Fund executive director Katriel Schory, and Czech director and actor Jiří Menzel.

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please subscribe to our newsletter to receive more stories like this directly in your inbox.