email print share on facebook share on twitter share on google+


La Chute, Fest and This Magnificent Cake! win Animafest Zagreb awards


- Films by Boris Labbé, Nikita Diakur, and Emma De Swaef and Marc James Roels have triumphed at the 28th edition of the festival

La Chute, Fest and This Magnificent Cake! win Animafest Zagreb awards
Emma De Swaef and Marc James Roels, directors of This Magnificent Cake! (© Nina Djurdjevic)

The 28th World Festival of Animated Film – Animafest Zagreb (4-9 June) wrapped on Saturday with an awards ceremony in the Cinema Europa. The jury of the Grand Competition – Short Film, consisting of Jeanette BondsSanja BorčićPiotr DumałaRobert Morgan and Pedro Rivero, decided to give the Grand Prix - Short Film to the Cannes Critics’ Week title La Chute by French filmmaker Boris Labbé.

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

Russian-German director Nikita Diakur received the Golden Zagreb Award for creativity and innovative artistic achievement for Fest. The Zlatko Grgić Award for the best first film made outside of an educational institution went to 32-Rbit by Victor Orozco Ramirez (Germany/Mexico).

In addition, each jury member gave out one Special Mention; scroll down for details. 

The jury of the Grand Competition - Feature Film, comprising Olga Bobrowska, Joni Männistö and Arsen Anton Ostojić, awarded the Grand Prix – Feature Film to Emma De Swaef and Marc James Roels' This Magnificent Cake! (Belgium/France/Netherlands). Anaïs Caura's Man-Woman Case (France) received a Special Mention. 

The jury of the Student Film Competition and Croatian Film Competition, consisting of Meghan OretskyNatko Stipaničev and Chi-Sui Wang, decided to give the Dušan Vukotić Award for the best student film to Facing It by Sam Gainsborough, from Beaconsfield’s NFTS, and the Best Croatian Film Award to Veljko Popović's Cyclists.

Here is the full list of award winners:

Short Film Competition

Grand Prix
La Chute - Boris Labbé (France)

Golden Zagreb Award
Fest - Nikita Diakur (Germany)

Zlatko Grgić Award 
32-Rbit - Victor Orozco Ramirez (Germany/Mexico)

Special Mentions (by jury member)
Jeanette Bonds: How Steel Was Tempered - Igor Grubić (Croatia)
Sanja Borčić: III - Marta Pajek (Poland)
Piotr Dumała: Mr. Deer - Mojtaba Mousavi (Iran)
Robert Morgan: Finity Calling - Jasper Kuipers (Netherlands/Belgium)
Pedro Rivero: Negative Space - Ru Kuwahata, Max Porter (France)

Mr M Audience Award
Between the Shadows - Alice Guimarães, Mónica Santos (Portugal)

Feature Film Competition

Grand Prix

This Magnificent Cake! - Emma De Swaef, Marc James Roels (Belgium/France/Netherlands) (medium-length film)
Special Mention
Man-Woman Case - Anaïs Caura (France) (medium-length film)

Mr M Audience Award
The Big Bad Fox and Other Tales [+see also:
film profile
- Patrick Imbert, Benjamin Renner (France)

Student Film Competition

Dušan Vukotić Award
Facing It - Sam Gainsborough (NFTS, UK)
Special Mentions
Take Me Please - Olivér Hegyi (Moholy-Nagy University of Art and Design Budapest, Hungary) 
Bless You! - Paulina Ziółkowska (Polish National Film, Television and Theatre School Lodz, Poland)

Vimeo Staff Pick Award
Letter to the One I Made Up - Rachel Gutgarts (Bezalel Academy, Israel)

Croatian Film Competition

Best Film 
Cyclists - Veljko Popović (Croatia/France)
Special Mention
Two by Two - Jelena Oroz (Croatia)

Children’s Competition

Best Film
Birdlime - Evan DeRushie (Canada)
Special Mention
Two Balloons - Mark C Smith (USA) 

Lifetime Achievement Award
Paul Fierlinger

Award for Outstanding Contribution to Animation Studies 
Paul Wells

Award for Best Animation School 
California Institute of the Arts (CalArts)

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please subscribe to our newsletter to receive more stories like this directly in your inbox.