email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on LinkedIn share on reddit pin on Pinterest

TURIN 2020 Torino Film Industry / Awards

The 13th TorinoFilmLab announces its prize-winners online


- Production awards worth a total of €180,000 have been won by 4 projects in advanced stages of development, while the TFL Audience Design Fund and Co–Production Fund have also been handed out

The 13th TorinoFilmLab announces its prize-winners online
Director Zuzana Kirchnerová, which has received the TFL Production Award for her project The Caravan

A successful edition - both for the quality of the projects presented and the solidarity demonstrated in this difficult year plagued by Covid-19 – is how we’d describe the 2020 TorinoFilmLab, which unfolded entirely online and closed on Friday with the awarding of the event’s annual prizes during a rather unusual ceremony hosted via Zoom. In all, the 13th TFL Meeting Event (16-20 November – read our news), saw 61 projects presented to a virtual audience of 350 accredited sector professionals, who were then given the opportunity to meet – virtually, once again – the teams behind the projects over the course of 700 one-to-one sessions.

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

The first of two production awards, reserved for projects in an advanced stage of development and supported by Creative Europe - MEDIA, went to the Australian-French co-production Michelle Remembers, the first feature film by Pia Borg (her short Demonic was selected for Cannes 2019) which tells the story of a woman who reveals, while under hypnosis, that she was the victim of satanic ritual abuse as a child, sparking mass hysteria. According to the jury, this is “an important and vital film which deals powerfully with the reality of the social media world in which we live”. The other production prize was awarded to the Chilean project The Mysterious Gaze of the Flamingo by Diego Céspedes (who scooped Cannes’ Cinéfondation award with his short film The Summer of the Electric Lion in 2018), which sees a 12-year-old girl battling against the prejudices surrounding an illness which is transmitted between gay men by means of a look: “a tender portrait of love against a chilling backdrop of fear and prejudice in the time of a pandemic”, the jury explains. Each project will receive €50,000 in support.

The TFL’s other two production prizes, worth €40,000 each, went to the Czech-Slovakian-Italian project The Caravan by Zuzana Kirchnerová, a road movie unfolding in Italy and revolving around a woman and her disabled son (in the jury’s words, “a project which is both honest and brave and which tells the tale of a woman fighting to preserve her sense of self”), and to the project Diaphanous by Iranian director Dornaz Hajiha, which reflects on how a rebellious daughter can become a burden for her loved ones in a traditionalist society (“for the head-on approach [the director] takes towards difficult topics in a tumultuous land, homing in on a female character and the consequences of a family tragedy which has been enveloped in secrecy so as to avoid feelings of shame”).

Awarded to stories which tackle sustainability-related themes with an original narrative style, the TFL White Mirror Prize (€ 3,000) was bestowed upon Blue Star - directed by Greece’s Stella Kyriakopoulos and is set aboard a ferry at risk of being sold to a foreign firm - “for broaching the serious subject of the Greek financial crisis via the screwball comedy genre”.

Last but not least, the TFL announced the winners of its three Audience Design Fund prizes (worth €45,000 each), rewarding innovative strategies for audience engagement at the point of distribution, which were this year taken home by l Father Plays Himself by Mo Scarpelli, The Salt in Our Waters by Rezwan Shahriar Sumit and White Building by Kavich Neang. Meanwhile, Lucrecia Martel’s Chocobar walked away with the TFL Co–Production Fund 2020 (€50,000), which is awarded to co-productions between European and international companies.

The full list of prizes is as follows:

2 TFL Production Award
Michelle Remembers - Pia Borg (Australia/France)
The Mysterious Gaze of the Flamingo - Diego Céspedes (Chile)

2 TFL Production Award
The Caravan - Zuzana Kirchnerová (Czech Republic/Slovakia/Italy)
Diaphanous - Dornaz Hajiha (Hong Kong/Francia)

TFL White Mirror
Blue Star - Stella Kyriakopoulos (Greece)

3 TFL Audience Design Fund
El Father Plays Himself - Mo Scarpelli (UK/Canada/Italy/Venezuela)
The Salt in Our Waters - Rezwan Shahriar Sumit (Bangladesh/France)
White Building - Kavich Neang (Cambodia/France/China)

TFL Co–Production Fund 2020
Chocobar - Lucrecia Martel (Argentina/US/Denmark/Mexico)

Parallel Awards

CNC Award (€8,000)
Nearness - Jorge Thielen Armand (France/Venezuela)
Special Mentions
Ciudad sin sueño - Guillermo García López (Spain)
Home - Or Sinai (Israel)

Post-Production Award (€10,000)
Melting of the Ruler - Ivan Salatić (Montenegro)

Sub-ti Award
Heartless - Nara Normande and Tião (France/Brazil/Germany)

Sub-ti Access Award
Karaoke King - Federica Gianni (Italy/US)

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

(Translated from Italian)

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please subscribe to our newsletter to receive more stories like this directly in your inbox.

Privacy Policy