email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on LinkedIn share on reddit pin on Pinterest


The JETS initiative announces its selected participants


- This year's edition will host 27 new film projects, and the selected teams will be invited to a virtual pitching session in the hope of initiating a two-country production

The JETS initiative announces its selected participants
A photo taken at last year's edition of JETS - Junior Entertainment Talent Slate (© Jürgen Sendel)

The JETS - Junior Entertainment Talent Slate initiative has announced the projects selected for its 2021 edition. Traditionally, the industry event takes place during the Berlinale, but this year, owing to the current circumstances, it will run independently and virtually for the first time, from 16-17 February.

The JETS initiative, organised by Germany’s WEP Productions and JETS Filmverleih & Vertrieb - Distribution in co-operation with several European and North American film bodies (see the news), brings together emerging producers and directors (with their debut, second and third features) with international producers, sales agents, financiers and distribution companies.

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

The 2021 edition will see the participation of four projects from Ireland, seven from South Africa, six from Canada, five from Germany, four from the UK and one from Norway. The teams will be invited to a virtual pitching session in the hope of striking up a two-country production.

Here are this year's selected projects:

Both Sides of the Gun - Greg Melanson and Rachelle Chartrand (Canada)
Eddie - Harry Cepka and Magali Gillon-Krizaj (Canada)
Léo - Joffrey Saintrapt and David Baeta (Canada)
Loya - Sibel Guvenc and Munire Armstrong (Canada)
Salem's Diary - Leah Rifkin and Sonja Verpoort (Canada)
Section Z - Greg Jeffs and Kevin Wallis (Canada)
The Forty Foot - Caolan Flood and Sabrina Rücker (Ireland)
The Last Watch - Sam Uhlemann and Juliane Wothe (Ireland)
Mac and Monika - Ciaran Creagh and Ferdia Doherty (Ireland)
The Skwoids - Ray Sullivan and Rob Davis (Ireland)
Bush Boys - Rodney Charles and Yasmin Rams (Germany)
Dense Times - Giorgos Bakollas and Katerina Beligianni (Germany)
Karla - Christina Tournatzés and Melanie Blocksdorf (Germany)
Love and Wodka - Heidi Philipsen-Meissner and Dirk Häger (Germany)
Ruby - Silvana Santamaria and Julia Dordel (Germany)
Darkest Forest - Trond Morten Kristensen Venaasen and Lillian Løvseth (Norway)
Get Happy - Lwazi Mvusi and Carolyn Carew (South Africa)
The Illiterate - Mmabatho Montsho and Katleho Ramaphakela (South Africa)
The Killing of a Beast - Vusi Africa Sindane and Menzi Mhlongo (South Africa)
Moses and the Burning Bush - Neo Ntlatleng and Jafta Mamabolo (South Africa)
Rocket Boy - Natasja De Lange and Wandile Molebatsi (South Africa)
The Trek - Sandulela Asanda and James C Williamson (South Africa)
The Violence - Mzonke Maloney and Nolitha Refilwe Mkulisi (South Africa)
Learning to Breathe Under Water - Rebekah Fortune and Jack Tarling (UK)
Mara - Eirini Konstantinidou and Ioanna Karavela (UK)
Snowflakes - Faye Jackson and Barrington Paul Robinson (UK)
Year of the Heart - Kelly Holmes and David Brown (UK)

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please subscribe to our newsletter to receive more stories like this directly in your inbox.

Privacy Policy