email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on reddit pin on Pinterest


Clermont-Ferrand announces its awards after a successful on-site edition for 2022


- Australian film Mate has taken home the Grand Prix

Clermont-Ferrand announces its awards after a successful on-site edition for 2022
Mate by George-Alex Nagle

After the tumultuous events of the past two years, the return of the Clermont-Ferrand International Short Film Festival as an on-site event (with 2021 being solely online) provided a welcome sense of normalcy within the short-film industry. Whilst strict health protocols in both cinemas and the Short Film Market meant that it was not exactly ‘business as usual’, the sense that both audiences and industry are at least able to cope with the situation as it currently stands seemed to bode well.

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

The Clermont audience were still out in droves while the Short Film Market – although certainly quiet in comparison to previous years and especially hurting from the absence of industry players from outside continental Europe – received respectable footfall and welcomed some major European festivals, producers and distributors. And while these absences dented the social aspect, the festival’s unofficial main hub of corner bar l’Univers became a (thankfully outdoors) nexus point for many professionals and spectators grateful to see each other in person again.

Wrapping up on Saturday night, the festival ended with its usual plethora of awards. The winner of the International Grand Prix was George-Alex Nagle’s Mate (Australia). The film is an impeccable slice of kitchen sink drama which follows the tense relationship between teenager Jack and wayward adult John. As the film reveals their past, and how they might be both sides of the same coin, it explores the push and pull of the desire for a future that will get better and regret for a wasted past.

Other films in the International Competition to walk away with prizes include the recipient of the Special Jury Prize Sarira (Mingyang Li, China), about a monk unable to pray because of toothache, and Three Songs For Benazir (Gulistan Mirzaei and Elizabeth Mirzaei, Afghanistan), a powerful documentary which won the Audience Award. The Best Animation award went to Chile’s Bestia (Hugo Covarrubia) while Best Documentary went to In Flow of Words (Eliane Esther Bots, Netherlands), already popular after it premiered in Berlin in 2020 and won a slew of subsequent awards including an EFA Nomination in 2021.

The European Film Award Candidacy went to documentary The Bayview (Daniel Cook, United Kingdom), a deceptively simple documentary about a Scottish hotel that provides food and shelter to migrant fishermen. An exploration of the difficult situation that said fishermen find themselves in as well as those who provide stability in the chaos, it’s a rich and human piece of work.

In the festival’s Lab competition, it was a home win for Le Boug Doug (Théo Jollet, France) with a film that follows a petty criminal in a small town. While Jollet plays with a realist aesthetic as he follows his energetic protagonists, he adds a sheen of the supernatural and the surreal to create an arresting piece of work. The Lab Audience prize went to Jobs For All (Arbete åt Alla!) (Axel Danielson and Maximilien Van Aertryck, Sweden) the latest film from the directors of the ultra-successful short 10 Meter Tower. The documentary consists of archive footage following workers throughout the past century and becomes a playful and often eye-opening treatise on the mechanics of capitalism and our attitudes towards the notion of ‘work.’

In the National Competition, the winning film was Le Roi David (Lila Pinell, France). Following a young girl who engages in petty crime in order to lead a new life, the film is yet another work that plays with socialist realist tropes to present a fascinating character study. Director Pinell also manages to go beyond the usual clichés as she explores not only a generational divide but a wealth one as well.

Prizes awarded by the festival’s partners were announced on Thursday. These included the International Canal+ Award which went to UK and Irish film Calving (Louis Bhose) and the Youtube Award For Best Live Action Short which went to Case Dep' (Alexandre Marinelli, France)

The full list of prizes is below:

International Competition

International Grand Prix
Mate - George-Alex Nagle (Australia)

International Special Jury Prize
Sarira - Mingyang Li (China)

European Film Awards Candidacy 
The Bayview - Daniel Cook (UK)

International Audience Prize
Three Songs For Benazir - Gulistan Mirzaei, Elizabeth Mirzaei (Afghanistan)

International Animation Prize
Bestia - Hugo Covarrubia (Chile)

International Student Prize
Once There was a Sea... - Joanną Kożuch (Slovakia/Poland)

Special Mentions
Birds - Katherine Propper (USA)
Fall of the Ibis King - Mikai Geronimo, Josh O’Caoimh (Ireland)
Steakhouse - Špela Čadež (Slovenia/France/Germany)
On the Surface - Fan Sissoko (Iceland/USA/Mali)

Lab Competition

Lab Grand Prix
Le Boug Doug - Théo Jollet (France)

Lab Special Jury Prize
Swallow the Universe - Nieto (France)

Lab Audience Prize
Jobs For All - Axel Danielson, Maximilien Van Aertryck (Sweden)

Lab Student Prize
Man or Tree - Tom Hancock, Varun Raman (UK)

National Competition

National Grand Prix & Student Prize
Le Roi David - Lila Pinell (France)

National Special Jury Prize
Astel - Damate-Toulaye Sy (France/Senegal)

National Audience Prize & Award for Best Original Score 
Partir un jour - Amélie Bonnin (France)
Composer: Thomas Krameyer

Special Mentions
Churchill, Polar Bear Town - Annabelle Amoros (France)
À l’ombre l’après-midi - Marin Gérard (France)

Partner awards

International Canal+/Ciné+ Award 
Calving - Louis Bhose (Ireland)

National Canal+ Award
Sideral - Carlos Segundo (France/Brazil)

Adami Awards for Best Actor and Best Actress (National Competition)
Alban Guyon - Shush Tony (France)
Dominique Valadié - L'Homme à la Mercedes pourpre (France)

PROCIREP Award for Best Producer (National Competition) 
Jeanne Ezvan and Marthe Lamy for Apaches Films - The Cormorant (France)

Best Queer Short Award 
A Free Run - Lauriane Lagarde (France)

Festivals Connexion Award 
Love, Dad - Diana Cam Van Nguyen (Czech Republic/Slovakia)

Special Effects Award by Adobe
Seine's Tear

SACD Award for Best French-language Animation (National Competition) 
Noir-Soleil - Marie Larrivé (France)

SACD Award for Best First Live-action Short (National Competition) 
Astel - Damate-Toulaye Sy (France/Senegal)

Award for Best Documentary 
In Flow of Words - Eliane Esther Bots (Netherlands)

"Fernand Reynaud" Award for Best Comedy 
Little Berlin - Kate McMullen (France)

Télérama Press Prize National Competition 
Son Altesse Protocole - Aurélie Reinhorn (France/Belgium)

YouTube Award for Best Live-action Short (National Competition) 
Case Dep' - Alexandre Marinelli (France)

Festivals Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes Scholarship 
Pleure pas Gabriel - Mathilde Chavanne (Apaches Films)

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please subscribe to our newsletter to receive more stories like this directly in your inbox.

Privacy Policy