email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on LinkedIn share on reddit pin on Pinterest


Cannes announces the short films vying for the Palme d’Or


- 11 films will take part in the short-film competition on the Croisette in May, while the Cinef selection comprises 16 titles

Cannes announces the short films vying for the Palme d’Or
Aunque es de noche by Guillermo García López

The identities of the 11 short films, representing 12 countries, which will be duking it out for the Palme d’Or at the 76th Cannes Film Festival (16-27 May) and the 16 titles from film schools in the Cinef selection (including 14 fictions and two animations helmed by ten female directors and seven male ones), which hail from 13 territories, have just been unveiled. As previously announced, the jury will be chaired by Ildikó Enyedi (see the news).

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

The selection is as follows:

Short-film Competition

La perraCarla Melo Gampert (Colombia/France)
As It WasAnastasia Solonevych, Damian Kocur (Poland/Ukraine)
TitsEivind Landsvik (Norway)
27Flóra Anna Buda (Hungary/France)
Le sexe de ma mèreFrancis Canitrot (France)
Aunque es de nocheGuillermo García López (Spain/France)
Basri & Salma in a Never-ending ComedyKhozy Rizal (Indonesia)
PoofMargaret Miller (USA)
Nada de todo estoPatricio Martínez, Francisco Canton (Argentina/Spain)
Wild SummonKarni Arieli, Saul Freed (UK)
FárGunnur Martinsdóttir Schlüter (Iceland)

Cinef selection

Daroone PoustShafagh Abosaba, Maryam Mahdiye, Karnameh Film School (Iran)
Killing Boris JohnsonMusa Alderson-Clarke, NFTS (UK)
NehemichYudhajit Basu, FTII (India)
ImogeneKatie Blair, Columbia University (USA)
Al Toraa’Jad Chahine, High Cinema Institute (Egypt)
A Bright Sunny DayYupeng He, Columbia University (USA)
HoleHwang Hyein, KAFA (South Korea)
La voix des autresFatima Kaci, La Fémis (France)
ElectraDaria Kashcheeva, FAMU (Czech Republic)
Trenc d’albaAnna Llargués, ESCAC (Spain)
Norwegian OffspringMarlene Emilie Lyngstad, Den Danske Filmskole (Denmark)
Osmy denPetr Pylypčuk, FAMU (Czech Republic)
The Lee FamiliesSeo Jeong-mi, Korea National University of Arts (South Korea)
SolosPedro Vargas, FAAP (Brazil)
AyyurZineb Wakrim, ÉSAV Marrakech (Morocco)
UhrmenschenYu Hao, Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF (Germany)

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

(Translated from French)

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please subscribe to our newsletter to receive more stories like this directly in your inbox.

Privacy Policy