email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on reddit pin on Pinterest


Europe on top at Amiens


- The big winner was the Irish film Song for a raggy boy by Aisling Walsh. The Special Jury prize went to the Belgium film L’autre by Benoît Mariage, with a prize for the Bosnian actor, Bogdan Diklic

Europe on top at Amiens

There was a plethora of prizes for productions from the Old Continent at the 23rd edition of the Amiens International Film Festival. The “Golden Licorne” and the Jury Prize were given to the Irish film Song for a Raggy Boy by Aisling Walsh, while the jury awarded a Special mention to the Belgium feature length film by Benoît Mariage, L'Autre. Song for Raggy Boy was also awarded €7,500 for its distribution in France and will also benefit from an €15,000 advertising campaign on the Ciné Cinéma TV channel, as well €2,500 for subtitling, provided by Titra Film, and the making of a trailer for broadcast on the French FNAC TV network for a month.

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

The festival jury was led by the Algerian filmmaker, Mohamed Lakhdar Hamina, and it awarded the actor Bogdan Diklic for his performance in the Bosnia-Herzegovina per production, Au feu! by Pjer Zalica, while Yvonne Fournery (Sangre by the Argentinean, Pablo Cesar) was awarded as Best Actress. There was a Special Mention for the French film by Jean-Marc Moutout, Violence des échanges en milieu tempéré [+see also:
film profile
. In the short film competition, the “Golden Licorne” was given to Clandestin by the French filmmaker, Philippe Larue.

This year’s Amiens Festival was attended by more than 63,000 people and there were a mixture of 300 short and feature length films shown between November 7 and 16. There was a special sector for Young European Authors (for fiction, animation and documentaries) whose works were judged by jury made up of former pupils of the La Femis Film School. In the section for short fiction films, the winner was the Belgium film Koro by Guldem Durmaz, and two Special Mentions were awarded, one to Gack Gack by Olaf Encke (German) and the other to Way Past by Mairéad McClean (Northern Ireland). There was also a retrospective of productions made at the famous Babelsberg studios in Germany, and a tribute to the German filmmaker, Frank Beyer.

(Translated from French)

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please subscribe to our newsletter to receive more stories like this directly in your inbox.