email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on LinkedIn share on reddit pin on Pinterest


Cannes announces the short films battling it out for the Palme d’Or


- 11 films will take part in the short films competition unspooling on the Croisette in May, while 18 titles feature in the Cinef selection

Cannes announces the short films battling it out for the Palme d’Or
Bad For A Moment (Mau por um momento) by Daniel Soares

The 11 short films representing 11 different countries which are set to battle it out for the Palme d’Or within the 77th Cannes Film Festival (running 14 – 25 May) and the 18 graduate films featuring in the Cinef selection (which include 14 fiction films and four animations) have now been unveiled. The jury will be presided over by Belgian actress Lubna Azabal, who’ll be joined by French director Marie-Castille Mention-Schaar, film programmer and former artistic director of the Directors’ Fortnight Paolo Moretti, producer and director Claudine Nougaret, and Serbian director Vladimir Perišić.

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

The selected titles are as follows:

Short Films Competition

Volcelest - Éric Briche (France)
Ootid - Razumaitė Eglė (Lithuania)
Sanki Yoxsan - Azer Guliev (Azerbaijan/France)
Les belles cicatrices - Raphaël Jouzeau (France)
Rrugës (On the Way) - Samir Karahoda (Kosovo)
Across The Waters - Viv Li (China)
Perfectly A Strangeness - Alison McAlpine (Canada)
Tea - Blake Rice (USA)
Amarela (Yellow) - André Hayato Saito (Brazil)
The Man Who Could Not Remain Silent - Nebojša Slijepčević (Croatia/France/Bulgaria)
Bad For A Moment  - Daniel Soares (Portugal)

Cinef Selection

Crow Man - Yohann Abdelnour (Alba – Lebanon)
Banished Love - Xiwen Cong (Beijing Film Academy – China)
Praeis (It’ll Pass) - Dovydas Drakšas (London Film School - UK)
Echoes - Robinson Drossos (ENSAD – France)
Mauvais coton (Us and Them) - Nicolas Dumaret (La Fémis – France)
Terminal - East Elliott (NYU - USA)
Elevación - Gabriel Esdras (Universidad de Guadalajara – Mexico)
In Spirito - Nicolò Folin (Centro Sperimentale di Cinematografia – Italy)
The Deer’s Tooth - Saif Hammash (Dar Al-Kalima University – Palestine)
Plevel (Weeds) - Pola Kazak (FAMO – Czech Republic)
The Chaos She Left Behind - Nikos Kolioukos (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki – Greece)
Forest of Echoes - Yoori Lim (Korea National University of Arts – South Korea)
Bunnyhood - Mansi Maheshwari (NFTS - UK)
Sunflowers Were The First Ones To Know… - Chidananda S. Naik (FTII, Pune – India)
Withered Blossoms - Lionel Seah (AFTRS – Australia)
Out The Window Through The Wall - Asya Segalovich (Columbia University - USA)
Three - Amie Song (Columbia University - USA)
It’s Not A Time For Pop - Amit Vaknin (Tel Aviv University – Israel)

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please subscribe to our newsletter to receive more stories like this directly in your inbox.

Privacy Policy