email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on reddit pin on Pinterest

BERLINALE 2004 Awards

A golden bear for the Turkish/German


- The biggest prize went to Head On by the director Fatih Akin. There were 2 awards for the Swedish Daybreak by Björn Runge. Other prestigious Bears emigrated to Colombia and Argentina

A golden bear for the Turkish/German

The choices made by the jury at the FilmFestSpiele Berlin, led by Frances Mc Dormand, confirmed the predictions: Head On by Fatih Akin is the winner of the Golden Bear of the 54th edition of the festival.
There were two prizes for the Swedish production Daybreak by Björn Runge, which came away with a Silver Bear for artistic contribution, and the Blue Angel as Best European Film.
There was also recognition for the musical group, Banda Osiris, and their contribution to the Italian production, Primo Amore by Matteo Garrone, which won a Silver Bear for Best Music.

(The article continues below - Commercial information)
series serie


Golden Bear
Head On [+see also:
film profile
- Fatih Akin (DE)

Silver Bear-Grand Jury Prize
El abrazo partido - Daniel Burman (AR)

Silver Bear for Best Director
Kim Ki-Duk - Samaria(KO)

Silver Bear for Best Actress
Jointly Awarded to Catalina Sandino Moreno for Maria, llena eres de Gracia (CO/USA) and Charlize Theron for Monster (USA)

Silver Bear for Best Actor
Daniel Hendler - El abrazo partido - Daniel Burman (AR)

Silver Bear for Artistic Contribution
Cast of Daybreak - Björn Runge (SE)

Silver Bear for Best Music
Banda Osiris - Primo Amore- Matteo Garrone (IT)

Blue Angel Prize AGICOA
Daybreak - Björn Runge (SE)

Alfred Bauer Prize
Maria, llena eres de Gracia by Joshua Marston (CO/USA)

Ecumenical Jury Prize
Ae Fond Kiss [+see also:
film profile
- Ken Loach (UK)

Panorama section Prize
Mi piace lavorare [+see also:
film review
interview: Francesca Comencini
interview: Luca Bigazzi
interview: Pierre Todeschini
film profile
(IT) - Francesca Comencini

Forum section Prize
Folle Embellie (FR/BE/CA) - Dominique Cabrera

Peace Prize
Svjedoci (HR) - Vinko Bresan.

For the complete list of prizewinners:

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

(Translated from Italian)

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please subscribe to our newsletter to receive more stories like this directly in your inbox.

Privacy Policy