email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on reddit pin on Pinterest


Casting for the Beaune Meetings


Unbeatable rendez-vous for French and European industry professionals, the 15th édition of the Beaune Cinema Meetings ( 21 - 23 October) organised by the ARP (Civil Society of Authors – Directors – Producers) yesterday revealed the identities of the personalities called to participate in the four debates on the programme. Presided over this year by the filmmaker Jeanne Labrune, the event has chosen as the overall theme for 2005, " the challenge of regulation for the international cinema business (OMC, Unesco, Europe) and the risks and opportunities for films offered by the digital revolution".

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

Chaired by Pascal Rogard (director general of the SACD and president of the French Coalition for Cultural Diversity), the debate OMC – UNESCO, what complementarity for this Cultural Diversity? will see notably the participation of the Minister for Culture Renaud Donnedieu de Vabres and the director Pierre Jolivet. Meanwhile, the subject From television without borders to the audiovisual without borders can count on the participation of, among others, Viviane Reding (European Commissionner charged with Media and Information), Ruth Hieronymi (president of the cinema sub-committee of the european Parliament ), Bertrand Méheux (president director general of the Canal + group) and Nicolas de Tavernost (president of direction for the Tv station M6 and president of the association for commercial television).
The third panel chaired by Michel Gomez (delegate general of the ARP) is asked to reflect on the transition of the photochemical and analogue industries in the digital era has, at the head of the bill, Véronique Cayla, director general of National Film Centre (CNC). Alongside her are Jean-Luc Moullet, (vice-president software & technology solutions of the Thomson group), Ted Shapiro (Motion Pictures Association) and the MEP Catherine Trautmann (member of the cinema sub-committee of the European Parliament ). Finally the theme Which policies for cinema heritage in the digital era? will be discussed by Daniel Borenstein (director of the digital service at the laboratory GTC), Jean-Eric de Cockborne (unit head of "audiovisual policies " of the European Commission ), Jacques Poitrat (heading the cinema programming for Arte) and Serge Toubiana (director general of the Cinémathèque Française).

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

(Translated from French)

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please subscribe to our newsletter to receive more stories like this directly in your inbox.

Privacy Policy