email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on reddit pin on Pinterest


Brotherhood wins the ninth WEMW


- Methusalem and Victim are among the big winners in the co-production forum, while Heat Singers has snapped up all the awards at Last Stop Trieste

Brotherhood wins the ninth WEMW
The winners of the ninth When East Meets West (© Katja Goljat/Matjaz Rust)

The ninth edition of When East Meets West (WEMW, 20-22 January) has wrapped with the announcement of the winners of six awards handed out at the co-production forum, which featured 22 projects.

The main award, the Film Centre Serbia Development Award, valued at €5,000, was granted to the project Brotherhood by Italian filmmaker Francesco Montagner and produced by Pavla Janouskova for Czech company Nutprodukce. The film tells the story of the three teenage sons of a radical Salafi preacher, facing their father's sentence for terrorism, questioning their beliefs and seeking different paths for their future.

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

The Dutch project Methusalem by Floor van der Meulen received two prizes: the EWA European Women’s Audiovisual Network Best Woman Director Award, and a free Cannes Film Market Producers Network accreditation for its producer, Derk-Jan Warrink (KeplerFilm). The other accreditation was handed to Belgian producer Magalie Dierick (Cassette for Timescapes) for the project All-In by Volkan Uce.

The Slovakian project Victim by Michal Blasko also picked up two awards: the Flow Postproduction Award of €15,000, and the EAVE Producers Workshop scholarship for its producer, Jakub Viktorin (Nutprodukcia). The Polish project Her/His by Anna Kazejak will benefit from a complete marketing package provided as an integral part of the Asterisk Visual Marketing Award. Finally, the Italian project Le Paradis C'est Ici by Giovanni Troilo won the new Pop Up Film Residency Award, which invites the director to spend three weeks at the newly established residence programme that was first introduced during WEMW.

In the sidebar sections of WEMW, starting with the Last Stop Trieste, the big winner was the Ukrainian documentary Heat Singers by Nadia Parfan, produced by Illia Gladshtein (Phalanstery Films), which was the recipient of all the major prizes – the HBO Europe Award, the Flow Digital Cinema Award and the newly introduced Film Centre Serbia LST Award. The Dox Consulting Award was bestowed upon the Italian project Never Whistle Alone by Marco Ferrari, produced by Priscilla Robledo (Candy Glass).

Finally, in the This Is IT work-in-progress section, the Italian-Mexican co-production T [+see also:
film review
interview: Ascanio Petrini
film profile
ony Driver [+see also:
film review
interview: Ascanio Petrini
film profile
 by Ascanio Petrini was the winner of the Laser Film Award, while Paradise by Davide Del Degan garnered a Special Mention.

A newly introduced award, the Italy-Baltic Development Award for Co-Production, was also handed out during WEMW. The €30,000 cash prize was delivered by MiBAC – the Ministry of Cultural Activities and Heritage, the Estonian Film Institute, the Lithuanian Film Centre and the National Film Centre of Latvia to Ultramondo, a Lithuanian-Italian film aimed at younger audiences that was co-produced by Solaria Film (Italy) and Fralita Films (Lithuania), and to Searching for Antigravity, which was co-developed by Studio Nominum (Lithuania), Giuma Produzioni (Italy), VFS Films (Latvia) and Les Films Figures Libres (France).

According to the final stats, at WEMW, 22 projects were selected for the co-production forum and 13 films for the work-in-progress sections, chosen from among over 350 submissions. Also, 45 different countries were represented, while 200 international decision makers and 500 participants were present in Trieste, where more than 600 one-to-one meetings were scheduled.

Here is the full list of winners at the ninth WEMW:

WEMW co-production forum awards

Film Centre Serbia Development Award
Brotherhood – Francesco Montagner
Production company: Nutprodukce (Czech Republic)

EWA European Women’s Audiovisual Network Award
Methusalem – Floor van der Meulen
Production company: KeplerFilm (Netherlands)

EAVE Producers Workshop scholarship
Jakub Viktorin – Victim (Slovakia)

Producers Network Prize
Magalie Dierick – All-In (Belgium)
Derk-Jan Warrink – Methusalem (Netherlands)

Flow Postproduction Award
Victim – Michal Blasko
Production company: Nutprodukcia (Slovakia)

Asterisk Visual Marketing Award
Her/His – Anna Kazejak
Production company: Lava Films (Poland)

Pop Up Film Residency Award
Le Paradis C'est Ici - Giovanni Troilo
Production company: Bright Frame (Italy)

Last Stop Trieste

Film Centre Serbia LST Award
Heat Singers – Nadia Parfan
Production company: Phalanstery Films (Ukraine)

HBO Europe Award
Heat Singers – Nadia Parfan

Flow Digital Cinema Award
Heat Singers – Nadia Parfan

Dox Consulting Award
Never Whistle Alone – Marco Ferrari
Production company: Candy Glass (Italy)

This Is IT

Laser Film Award
Tony Driver [+see also:
film review
interview: Ascanio Petrini
film profile
– Ascanio Petrini
Production company: Dugong Films (Italy)

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please subscribe to our newsletter to receive more stories like this directly in your inbox.