Loving Vincent (2016)
Gangsta (2018)
Memoir of Pain (2017)
Giant (2017)
On Body and Soul (2017)
The Insult (2017)
The Square (2017)
Choose your language en | es | fr | it

email print share on facebook share on twitter share on google+


by János Szász


Josef Brenner is a psychiatrist whose breakthrough approach to working with the mentally ill is overtaken by his morphine addiction and ostracism from mainstream medicine. His captivation with asylum patient Gizella leads to a destructive meeting of mind and body, leaving him contemplating her sacrifice to fuel his appetite for knowledge and renown.
Based on the infamous diaries of Geza Csath.

international title: Opium – A Madwoman's Diary
original title: Ópium: Egy elmebeteg nö naplója
country: Hungary, Germany, United Kingdom
year: 2006
genre: fiction
directed by: János Szász
release date: HU 29/03/2007
screenplay: János Szász, András Szekér
cast: Ulrich Thomsen, Kirsti Stubø, Zsolt László, Enikö Börcsök, Gyöngvér Bognár, Roland Rába
cinematography by: Tibor Máthé
film editing: Anna Kornis
art director: Tibor Lazar
music: Johann Jonhannsson
producer: Andras Hamori, Pal Sandor
production: H2O Motion Pictures, Hunnia Filmstúdió, EuroArts Entertainment Filmproduktions
backing: Euroimages


main awards/selection

Hungarian Film Week 2007 Best Director
Best Cinematography
Gene Moskowitz Prize
Moscow International Film Festival Best Actress (Kirsti Stubo)

Follow us on

facebook twitter rss

IDW Supsi


Structural Constellations
WBI Rotterdam